Bloc Launches $1 Million ‘Close the Gap’ Scholarship Fund For Working Women Pursuing New Careers in Tech

Bloc
News on the Bloc
Published in
3 min readOct 18, 2017

Bloc commits $1 Million to make tuition for part-time coding and design bootcamps more affordable for 250 women.

It’s no secret that women are underrepresented in the tech industry. Only 26% of professional computing occupations are held by women (2016 data). While 39% percent of Bloc’s successful students in 2017 are women, we’re not satisfied yet and we’ve decided to do more to drive equality in the technology industry. To increase the number of women in technology-related fields, we’re committing $1 million to help self-identifying women pursue their dreams of becoming software developers and designers. In the next 12 months, qualified applicants can earn up to 40% off Bloc tuition.

By the end of 2018, we’d like 50% of students who enroll in Bloc to be women.

About the Scholarship

Eligible female applicants can apply their scholarship award towards Bloc’s Part-Time Web Developer Track (originally $8,800) or Designer Track (originally $9,800). These programs are our most popular courses, proven to get students a job as a Software Developer or UX Designer.

Apply for the scholarship here!

Bloc’s Women in Tech Who Inspired the Scholarship:

Over the last 5 years, Bloc has helped many driven women change their lives and transition into a career in tech. We are continuously inspired by their determination to succeed and grit that allows them to get stuff done. The tech community needs more people like them, which is what inspired this scholarship. Hear from them on why they pursued a career in tech and how Bloc helped them change their careers:

Kasey Markham:

“I wasn’t being challenged anymore at work and realized how slow moving the financial services industry was and how weighted down it was by regulation. I wanted to move to a career where I’d always be challenged and learning.”

Shelby Coleman:

“The more traditional get a masters/go back to college route was entirely unfeasible with working a full-time job, and I very much wanted a structured way to pursue learning to be a developer. Bloc offered a flexible opportunity that fits in with my life rather than demanding an entirely new one.”

Blair Lunceford:

“Bloc has given me a start in the tech industry, and I have the career focus that I’ve been searching for since graduating college. I like that the tech industry is secure and widespread. I’d like to be able to live various places while pursuing a career. I feel that no matter what life experiences I go through, working in the tech industry gives me the flexibility to work through personal matters while still having a career.”

Noelle Lewkowicz:

“I feel like I have SO many doors open to me now. The fashion industry is so competitive, I struggled to get my foot in the door. With this shift into UX/UI, I now have recruiters coming to ME. I will be able to choose where I work instead of accepting whatever comes my way. Hopefully, I also have the option to go back to freelance one day and support myself that way, if I so choose to.”

Renee Fowler:

“With the help of my amazing Bloc mentor, Mike Dekker, I was able to learn to become a smart designer and to gain the confidence I needed to leave my job and pursue a career in UX/UI Design. Now, I’m working as a contractor for two different design agencies of varying sizes from the comfort of my own home — something I didn’t think was possible a year ago.”

Want to read more from our female Bloc students? Read stories about even more female Bloc successes, like Beth Cummings, Miri Yeh, Melissa Jaen, Tara Willman, Katelyn Hertel, Tina Liu, Brittany Martin, and Gemma Haylett! We have had so many successful female grads, and we want even more to get inspired and get into tech!

--

--

Bloc
News on the Bloc

An online education company with coding and design programs built for outcomes. Check out our publication, News on the Bloc, as well as our website, bloc.io.