The cinemagraph technique

Episode 107–27.09.16

Pietro De Grandi
One Shot a Day
1 min readSep 28, 2016

--

You can follow the project on telegram → https://telegram.me/oneshotaday

Today I’m going to try with the cinemagraph (or live image) technique. I’m not completely satisfied with the result, since I’ve choose a composition that is not able to show the full potential of the method.

So, in a nutshell, what you have to do is to shot an image like this

Trento, 27.09.2016

and then shot a video to what’s happening. After that, you import the video in photoshop as layers, make a mask with the primary shot and animate with the timeline only one detail, like this

Now, I know that I didn’t explain it well. In the next days I’m gonna repeat the process in a better way and make a nice tutorial of it, I promise!

That’s it for today, hope you enjoyed! See you tomorrow!
Every day I post at least one photo from my life. Here’s why.

Previous | Next

Discover all the episodes here!

Follow me on Instagram:

--

--