An Open Letter to Food

Patty Giannone
Open Letters To
Published in
3 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

We need to talk…

Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

Dear Sustenance,

We’ve been together forever. My whole life actually, since, you know, I can’t really live without you. Literally. And I have to be honest, it hasn’t always been a healthy relationship. Downright toxic at times. But I digress.

I’m writing to you because I think it’s time we had a talk. I’m not sure we’re headed in the right direction and I’m wondering if we should hit the brakes a little?

It’s not you, it’s me.

Actually, it is you.

I mean, do you have to come in such a variety of delicious flavors? Sweet and salty, mouth-watering combinations?? Just a look at some of Cooking At Home’s recipes, like this Spaghetti with Mussels in a Tomato Wine Sauce or this Apple Oatmeal Bread, is enough to prove my point.

Also, do you have to be everywhere? Flaunting yourself shamelessly in my face? Offering pleasure and comfort (if only temporarily)? Yes, I’m onto you. Manipulative sweet talker, you! Promising to fill dark voids you can’t possibly fill. Easy, top-up solutions that never last. I need long term fulfillment dammit!

Look, I know I’ve been cheating a little with Alcohol lately… but we’re in the middle of a pandemic. Cut me some slack! It’s just that both of you together, it’s so magical, (see…

--

--

Patty Giannone
Open Letters To

Freelancer, writer, artist, free spirit. Learning how to be comfortable with being uncomfortable. Forever the square peg in a round hole. Finally embracing it.