Welcome to the new Open Working Programme Cohort!

Robyn Barclay
Open Working & Reuse
2 min readJun 29, 2023

This week at Third Sector Lab, we began the most recent iteration of our Open Working Programme, funded by Catalyst. It’s the third one this year, and the second that I’ve ever been involved in.

After seeing how much some of our last cohort benefitted from Open Working, it’s both exciting and intimidating to start again.

Photo by Katerina Pavlyuchkova on Unsplash

Reflecting on the last cohort

Here’s a recent post from a member of our last cohort, Ben McKenna, who is CEO of Solidaritech: Wide Open (Working) Spaces.

“In short I’ve found it really illuminating. I had forgotten how much I love writing. I do a lot of it in my work, but I very rarely do it *from* me, in my own voice. It’s been nice to find my own voice again, rather than an organisational voice. That’s important, as I think it exercises different brain muscles.”

The May cohort of the Open Working Programme were particularly special since they were all working in similar networks. Going forwards, I’d like to consider how we can build that sense of community within third sector organisations UK-wide.

Looking to the future

I think the best way for everyone to experience the full benefits of the Open Working Programme is not just to share their own writing, but read others’ too!

It is our aim to build a community of transparency on this Medium publication and through our private slack channels.

What is our current cohort working on?

Let’s have a look at some of the fantastic writing that has already been submitted on day one of the latest Open Working Programme!

  1. “Weeknote: The good, bad, and the ugly of last week”

2. “A life-changing experience?”

3. “Weeknotes Week 1”

To read more from this cohort of the Open Working Programme, make sure to read through the Open Working & Re-Use Publication . Read more about the Open Working Programme on the Third Sector Lab website.

--

--

Robyn Barclay
Open Working & Reuse

Finding creative communication and marketing solutions to help make digital a priority in the third sector.