Lego Build 101 — Toro

Francisco Duarte
2 min readJul 3, 2023

--

The first post after reaching that magical 100th mark, I come to you with a ‘Mech I’ve wanted to make for a long while. I’ll be offering my thoughts about the last 100 posts of this series, other series and future projects in another post, as soon as I find time to really put my thoughts on the page. For now, let’s keep having fun!

After the creation of the BattleMech, the respective technology spread around very quickly, with several factions managing to produce their own machines within a few decades. The Taurian Concordat joined this club in the 2480s after capturing a few Capellan ‘Mechs. This required the collaboration of the three major industrial conglomerates in the nation, but by the Reunification War several Toros would be available to fight the SLDF invaders.

The machine itself was a simple, small ‘Mech, with long-range firepower and higher than usual armor for its weight class. Measures would be taken to eradicate the Toro and its production facilities after the Concordat’s defeat, but the proud Taurians never forgot their achievement. By the end of the 31st century, new versions of the Toro would appear, reinvigorating the Concordat’s armed forces.

A simple model, this one takes 34 parts and it should be quite easy to put together. Most parts shouldn’t be that hard to find either, which fits the theme for this unit. The Toro was always meant to be a simple, hardy war machine that could be produced in large numbers and assail the enemy from afar.

I like how it turned out. These instructions present it in Taurian colors, but you can make using whatever parts you have, of course!

I really want to talk to you about all I want to do. The last months have been difficult, but I try to keep doing what I love, from these posts to fiction writing and game creation. As a creative, I cannot stop doing that. It kills you from the inside out when that happens.

If you like my work you can help me out with tip on my Ko-fi account. I also have other stuff around that you might enjoy too! And always feel free to contact me. Have fun!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine