Fan Set 01 — Catapult

Francisco Duarte
2 min readSep 23, 2021

--

One of the things that I love the most while designing these instructions is to see what other people come up with, either by using my instructions or by simply trying to make their own interpretations of their favorite BattleMechs. I have posted some pictures sent by another BattleTech fan some time ago. But recently I was contacted by Timothy McCormick as he not only made my very own Nova, but he also had made his very own interpretation of the Catapult BattleMech prior to that.

We talked a bit, and from that, I came up with an instruction set for his built. This is what I bring you today.

This is a really nice build. It is still within micro-scale, as it isn't much taller than mine. It is also stable and perfectly able to stand on its own. The color scheme is inspired by Timothy’s favorite unit from Battletech - the 17th Avalon Hussars.

Also, let me show you the original and the said Nova:

I really enjoyed doing this. Of course, it also means that I will have to bring in my own interpretation of the Catapult sooner than later.

If you have some Lego BattleMech or general BattleTech unit you would like me to make instructions for, let me know. I love to see what others come up with and their own builds of my sets.

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine