MEDIUM SUCCESS

My Top 10 Most-Read Stories: Six are About Feminism

Breaking down my Top 10

Lawrence
Page One: Writers on Writing

--

Photo by Stephen Phillips, Unsplash.

After writing 90 Medium stories in 5 1/2 weeks, of my top 10 stories, five are commentary on feminism.

I’ve provided links to every story so you can have a look at my top 10.

Ranked from the most-read in the feminist category:

Wo. A lot of women on Medium have issues.

This story had a read rate of 83 per cent. That’s good.

I wrote about you on Substack.

This was a Substack article I wrote before changing my Substack format.

Men would choose the bear, too.

A read rate of 50 per cent on this one.

Women want equality. Until the bill comes.

A read rate of 78 per cent.

Women are sneaky, lying, conniving, treacherous, charmers.

This one had a low read rate of 33 per cent. What’s interesting is that the story is one of my shortest, at only 215 words!

Another in my most-read top 10 was biography. But it, too, was a feminist story.

So six stories in the feminist category rounded out my top 10 most read.

That story was about Oprah and her still-born baby she had as a young teenager.

This story touched me. I thought it would touch others. People did like it.

Gail and Canaan.

That was my only biography that made the top 10.

But those six stories didn’t take the very top spot. A relationship advice story took Number 1. This link is to my most-read story of all my time on Medium:

Longtime divorce lawyer says marriage is a technology that that doesn’t work.

It also a high read rate, 83 per cent.

In my top ten, one story dealt with writing:

Well, I did it. I started a Substack.

Its read rate, 79 per cent.

Only one of my top 10 most-read was a news story:

It’s time to call it is in Gaza. A genocide.

Read rate, 69 per cent.

Taylor Swift song lyrics rounded out my top ten.

Five Taylor Swift lyrics that teach us about life, whether they meant to or not.

Read rate, 60 per cent. I thought it would be higher. Doesn’t everyone like Taylor Swift?

Breakdown

What has impressed me over the 5 1/2 weeks I’ve been on Medium is the large community of feminists here. I didn’t write to the algorithm for those six stories in the feminist catagory. But five out of those six were a response to a Medium story I’d read. One was a bio. When I learned about Oprah’s son she had at such a young age, I had to write about it.

Interesting that. My biggest category on Medium is feminism. Surprise!!!

I used to write news. But only one news story made the top 10. That’s also interesting to me.

Most of my stories were sports stories. None made the top 10.

Hope this breakdown helps you in your writing journey!

--

--

Lawrence
Page One: Writers on Writing

Editor of 'Page One: Writers on Writing', and 'Writer's Reflect.' You're welcome to write for either publication. I love writing and reading on Medium.