NATURE PHOTOGRAPHY/INSPIRATION

The Happiness Effect of Nature Walks

Walking in nature has transformative powers

B.R. Shenoy
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
1 min readMay 1, 2021

--

Ducks by a lake
Image by B.R. Shenoy

“To walk in nature is to witness a thousand miracles.” — Mary Davis

I always feel so refreshed and invigorated after a brisk walk in nature.

The fresh air boosts my mood. I love feeling the sunshine on my shoulders and the cool breeze brushing my cheeks.

I stroll past the homes in my neighborhood. Depending on the day, I am greeted by the aroma of succulent curries and grilled meats wafting through the air, the delightful smell of fresh linens, or the heavenly scent of wet earth after a rainfall.

I hike briskly along the walking trails. The ducks and geese waddle toward me. I marvel at the chirp of birds and the flicker of fireflies.

All my worries are forgotten. I am surrounded by nature. I am awed by its beauty. I am one with the world.

I return home, recharged and ready to take on the world.

What do you enjoy most about going on a nature walk? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

More of my nature stories:

A Time for Peaceful Contemplation

Duck Heaven

The Beauty of Nature

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Avid Globetrotter• Expat on 3 Continents•12x Boosted Writer•Editor:The Shortform• NewsBreak Writer•https://brshenoy.substack.com•M.S. Toxicology •Proud Mom of 2