The Movies That Made Me Bisexual

Oh, THAT’S why I liked that!

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Prism & Pen
Published in
5 min readJul 12, 2022

--

The open ocean stretches out in front of a boat’s prow with a person standing with arms out as if flying.
Image by marketa_star from Pixabay

Sometimes, as LGBTQ+ people who came out later in life, we can look back at movies or TV and have a moment of realization. When we first watched it, we didn’t know why we liked it so much, but now, with hindsight, there is a deeper meaning there, a queer meaning.

When Nick in Heartstopper had his moment watching Pirates of the Caribbean, bisexuals from all over sighed in agreement. The Mummy and Pirates of the Caribbean are commonly known in online bisexual circles as movies that cause bisexual awakenings. I do find bisexual joy in watching them as well, but here are a few other movies that I look back on and go, “oh, that’s why I liked that!”

“A woman’s heart is a deep ocean of secrets.”

There was a time after watching Titanic when I was a bit obsessed with Leonardo DiCaprio. I pretended even to myself that there was nothing romantic or sexual in my interest, and honestly, my asexuality helped out with that lie. Since I felt nothing physically when I looked at him, I told myself I was too mature to have a crush on an actor. Spoiler: I was not as mature as I thought I was.

I didn’t appear to have anything in common with Rose in film. I grew up in a very poor family and my parents never expected I would marry…

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Prism & Pen

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.