Six Painful Lessons After Applying to 600+ Companies

I’m just happy to close this unpleasant chapter.

Marcus Chan
Publishous

--

Smiley face | Marcus Chan
GIF designed by the author.

Ladies and gentlemen,

After two agonisingly long months of rummaging through job portals, I am finally on to the next chapter of my life.

As I write this, I just wrapped up my first day with the company and I’ll be unsubscribing to all the job alerts I created. Although I am slightly uncomfortable and not sure what exactly I’m doing yet, I know I’ve made the right choice. I’ve got loads to learn and an endless headroom to grow.

These opportunities do not come easily.

While I took a four-day break from doing any sort of work last week, I thought about the last two months a lot.

The profession of a job hunter today is much different from the age of the boomers. Here are my thoughts.

1/ Sometimes, the opportunity doesn’t exist

Comparing my recent layoff to when I decided to leave my last company, this was much scarier.

I got laid off smack in the middle of economic panic. Most companies in my preferred industry (finance or tech) didn’t dare to hire any new employees because of how depressing the near future looked. The job market was just dry.

--

--

Marcus Chan
Publishous

Writer by title, storyteller at heart. Writing about life, money, and work. Newsletter: https://marcuschan.substack.com/ Ebook: https://bit.ly/3PgV5HH