If You’ve Ever Wondered About the Things I Love.

40 Answers to the Question, “What Does Brandon Love?”

Brandon Weldy
Publishous
4 min readJan 30, 2019

--

Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I was minding my own business recently and got a notification I was tagged in a post by Jack Heimbigner. You can read the post here.

The post is a listicle about 40 things he loves. It’s a good list.

I was tagged as a challenge to put together my own list. I don’t think I’ve ever done one of these listicles but thought I’d give it a go. If you are here to learn some things about me then you have come to the right post. Here are 40 things I love (in no particular order).

  1. Puns. Good puns, bad puns, it doesn’t matter. They make me laugh. In my opening line, I almost wrote “write post” as a writer pun then thought better of it.
  2. Gardening. Two years ago we decided to have a small garden. It was a bonding experience for our family and I discovered I loved it. We had another this last year and even though there’s snow on the ground I’m already plotting it out for this year.
  3. My wife. She’s my encourager, my partner in parenting, and the person I enjoy most on this planet.
  4. Our four sons. People always act shocked when I say we have four kids and even more surprised when I mention they are all boys. Being their dad is one of my absolute favorite things in life. They can be a bit dramatic sometimes.
  5. Camping! We have been doing family camping trips for a couple years now and they are the best.
  6. Coffee. I’ve gotten more picky about my coffee, that being said I will still drink whatever is brewed. There’s a company here in Hannibal that roasts beans and they are fantastic. Check out Second Breakfast Coffee Roasters.
  7. I love to run. I grew to love it in 8th grade and the passion continued. It is still my go-to exercise.
  8. The Bible. It has shaped my life more than any other book.
  9. Writing. I have not written much on Medium this year but I’ve still been writing. In fact, I have a book in the hands of some beta readers right now.
  10. Instagram. It is probably my social media platform of choice.
  11. Snow. In the midwest, it is often hit or miss on snow and so many people hate it. There has been snow covering the ground for three weeks now and I love it!
  12. Reading. I enjoy both fiction and non-fiction. I’m over halfway done with my third book this year and I have a goal to finish 24 in 2019.
  13. Doctor Who.
  14. History. My 10th grade World History teacher, Mrs. Yonker, made learning history fun and I’ve loved it ever since.
  15. Organization…which can be frustrating in a house with four little ones.
  16. God. I believe He has been the greatest constant in my life and I am grateful for the blessings which come from Him.
  17. The Lord of the Rings. Those books and movies get me every single time.
  18. The Chronicles of Narnia and sharing it with my kids.
  19. My book World Jumper.
  20. Watching the sunrise over the Mississippi River.
  21. Our goofy family pictures.
  22. My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers.
  23. Popcorn! Although I have discovered my stomach disagrees.
  24. Icecream! My stomach also disagrees with this one.
  25. Tales of adventure.
  26. Stories of strange happenings. It doesn’t matter if it’s stories of aliens, bigfoot, Loch Ness, or something else. You guys, I want to believe.
  27. Pandora’s Filmscore Radio. This station is my go-to station while writing. It is also the station my wife plays while the kids are doing their schoolwork. It’s relaxing and it seems to help my mind work while making up stories.
  28. Comic books. The stories that are told within the pages of a comic pull me right it. I have also begun to read them occasionally as bedtime stories with the boys. The pictures help keep the attention of the younger two and the stories are fun for the older two. It’s a win-win.
  29. Getting a laugh.
  30. Teaching. I’ve led youth group, children’s classes, and even did some substitute teaching. It’s all so much fun.
  31. Learning. I even love learning in a classroom setting. I do miss school a little.
  32. The freedom to homeschool.
  33. Andrew Scott’s portrayal of Jim Moriarty in the BBC’s Sherlock.
  34. My two favorite Medium publications: Publishous and The Dad Hammer Publication.
  35. Hannibal, Missouri. There’s so much history in this town and I love learning more about it. There are also lots of beautiful places to see and plenty of family activities.
  36. Christmastime.
  37. Star Wars.
  38. Star Trek. Because you can enjoy both!
  39. My new job. It’s not so much because it’s my dream job but because it has freed up so much of my time to invest time into things and people that I love.
  40. Eating supper with my family. We are able to gather around our kitchen table and eat together just about every night and it’s pretty great.

I did it! That wasn’t so difficult and I hope you enjoyed learning a little more about the not-so-mysterious Brandon Weldy. Are there any items that surprised you or that we share in common?

Maybe you hate one of the things I love; let me know…nicely.

--

--

Brandon Weldy
Publishous

Father of Four. Husband to Jenny. Story Teller. Live the Adventure. http://weldywritings.com/