Are scientists going mad over wine?

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readJul 19, 2023
Two glasses of white wine overlooking the sea.Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

In one of my earlier posts, I mentioned how scientists had been studying why, when you drop a piece of toast, it sometimes lands butter side down.

The boffins went on to explain why this was. I really cannot remember what the reason was, because I knew the answer, and I revealed it on that post, and I will reveal it again here.

If you drop your piece of toast and it lands butter side down, it means you have buttered the wrong side.

Now on to some more revelations from the scientific community, this time regarding wine.

Men in white coats have been trying to work out why wine we drink on holiday does not taste the same when we drink it on our return home.

Once again, I can offer them the benefit of my extensive experience in this field.

One of our favourite holiday destinations has been the Greek Islands. And we both enjoy, that is my wife and I, is sampling the local brew.

Now some people have given Greek wine a bad name, but I have found that if you explain to the waiters what you are looking for, you will get it.

We both favour light white wine and always find one to suit our taste. Now there are several reasons why these wines taste so good on holiday.

One is that we are on holiday and have had a relaxing day on the beach.

Two, we are in a friendly tavern, usually overlooking the sea.

Three, the evening is still warm.

Four, and this is a major factor in this experiment.

The wine is always about two-thirds of the price we would pay back home.

It would be more expensive at home because our government puts a hefty tax on it.

And that leaves a nasty taste in your mouth.

And that it is why it tastes different at home.

Problem solved.

Some more stories from me.

Are men and women really different?

Have you ever hated someone?

Hot bread and butter and memories of a lost friend.

Are you a slave to your crockery and utensils?

Brandy can be very handy.

--

--