Are words damaging the climate?

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readAug 30, 2023
A burning beacon. Photo by Markus Clemens on Unsplash

Which beacon is the biggest threat to the climate?

The one pictured above, or this one?

A sign saying Beacon Court. My photo

I am asking these questions because the Welsh Brecon Beacons name has been changed.

It has been changed from the English to the Welsh language, Bannau Brycheiniog. It means the peaks of Brychan’s kingdom, in English.

There have been many reasons put forward for this change, the Welsh, quite rightly, want to protect their language, and I am all for this.

However, one of the reasons put forward, was climate change, and the word beacon.

Now I will admit that a burning beacon would definitely be disadvantageous to the climate. But as far as know, the Brecon Beacons have never been ignited. So, a burning beacon would be bad for the climate, but surely the word is not a threat.

If this trend were taken up by the whole country, what would happen to the words, fire, burning, smoke, carbon dioxide? All these words are describing things that are contributing to climate change, but the words themselves do not pose any danger to the climate.

However, if scientists discover that such words are detrimental to climate, I am in danger.

The sign announcing Beacon Court is only 20 feet from my front door.

Should I move? 😮

Thanks for reading.

More stories from my sometimes-addled brain.

Is there such a thing as a classless society?

Is re-writing an article plagiarism?

Meet our village post box.

Just who can you trust?

I owe a Swiss village an apology.

--

--