Sunshine, Seaside and an ice-cold beer.

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readSep 10, 2023
Photo by Luke Dean-Weymark on Unsplash

I have two people to thank for this memory. I read my friend Randy Pulley response to Imothoughts prompt, if you could transport yourself to any place.

If the challenge means I can go anywhere in any time frame, I would like to go back in time. Not too far back, just a decade or three.

I was on holiday in Minorca with my family. My first wife, my two daughters, my first mother-in-law, and my brother- and sister-in-law.

On this particular day, I went up to our favourite beach bar to secure a lunch table for all of us.

I secured the table and settled down to wait for the family to join me.

A glass off ice cold beer. Photo by David von Diemar on Unsplash

I had ordered an ice cold beer and sat looking over the sunny beach and the blue shiny Mediterranean sea, when a song came on the bar’s sound system.

It was Bruce Willis’s cover of the Drifters “Under the boardwalk.”

The perfect song to listen to while soaking up the warm Menorcan sun and drinking an ice-cold beer.

This day is fixed firmly in my memory as within a year, tragedy struck, and our world was turned upside down.

Thanks for reading.

More stories from my sometimes-addled brain.

Just what did John Lennon say about Jesus?

Could one of our lady readers answer this question?

What is a Box Ticker?

--

--