Re Human Day 103

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
2 min readDec 29, 2018

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time.

This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Today I continued listening to The Order of Time. Some notes from today:

Time is granular, not continuous. But ridiculously small grains.

The world is a collection of events, not ordered in time.

Meditation: 20 minutes at night.

Re Human Extended Activity: Fridays I’m a Graphic Designer.

Today I looked for nice fonts to use in some of my designs (ended up picking Averta Std, seen below, bottom-right corner), and arranged a couple of screenshots for my year reflection process post, like this one:

Writing: This post and work on a “How I reflect for and navigate a new year” post. I’m pretty much done. Posting tomorrow.

Digital Drawing & Painting:

Edited and added stuff to little humans to create this one:

Fitness: Today I trained pull ups, biceps, burpees, abs, chest.

Piano: Practiced the La La Land song. Have been doing with no flowkey, which is harder, but want to get it perfect without looking at any video/notes.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I trained at night. Wasn’t great because there wasn’t much light, but I still practiced.

Random Surprise

Three pretty cool writing tricks, to shave off words, that I had not seen before:

  1. Make things plural to omit articles. They can add up. Ex: “The teacher needs to know…” → “Teachers need to know….”
  2. Turn some prepositional phrases into adjectives. Ex: “Schools in urban communities” → “Urban schools”
  3. Some multi-word phrases can easily be turned into one word. Ex: “Due to the fact that” → “because”, “In order to” → “to”

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com