Re Human Day 151

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readFeb 15, 2019

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time.

This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Today I started and finished Vulcan . My top 3 favorite notes:

Scientist who discovered Neptune wasn’t the greatest mathematician and also want the most knowledgeable astronomer. He just combined the two in a seemingly not important problem (why some orbits weren’t following the path as some equations).

Einstein saw a guy on a roof, and imagined what would happen if he fell. This gave him the insight that the man would not feel his weight. This was the essential connection for special relativity.

Vulcan is a cautionary tale that it’s too easy to see what one wants, even when it doesn’t match reality.

Full notes here:

Meditation: did 20minutes in the morning.

Digital Drawing: Today was day 2 of the Vitruvian portrait course. Today I spent my 10minutes just reading through their Measurement and Triangulation lesson.

Piano: Today I went back to watching this video (had seen it a while ago but has some great tips on improvising with chords, so worth watching again). Practiced chord improvisations and La La Land’s song.

Re Human Extended Activity: On Thursdays, I’m a Music Producer.

Today it was super clear that the Gatorade mix so far has horrible transitions. Decided to remove the Flamingo song altogether and instead go straight from the “I got the power” song to Kanye’s POWER.

Then, probably the thing I’m most proud of doing today, I identified a scream in Kanye’s Power song that sounded pretty similar to the beginning of All That She Wants, Bodybanger remix. I wanted to transition out of POWER in a good way, around a time, and took advantage of that scream — searched through my Gatorade playlist to see what could match, and All That She Wants was a pretty good one.

I was trying to alter the scream to make it even closer, so watched a video that wasn’t actually useful, and in the sidebar this one was recommended so I watched:

Then after All That She Wants, I added Alok’s remix of Baiana. Still haven’t figured out a good transition.

Dance: Yes, I’m going to experiment with now also making Dance a daily habit. Hip hop dancing seems too fun. My friend Cliff showed me this video and it’s so good:

I also finished watching the super beginner video I started yesterday but hadn’t finished because it was boring (simple exercises):

Then I started part 2. Will experiment with following along tomorrow morning! Thinking the morning could be a fun time to add the dancing habit.

Writing: This post, journaling (day and night), and my book review post. Also yesterday and today I wrote the descriptions for like 6 of the Re Human Areas! Posted on Instagram.

Fitness: Today I mainly trained chest. Also did human flags, handstands, and ended with 30 consecutive burpees, listening to my Gatorade playlist.

Soccer trick juggling: Practiced hop the world and around the around the world from the other side — got two of those in a row! First time for that.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly present of the best content I’ve ever found, and updates, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com