Re Human Day 181

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
4 min readMar 17, 2019

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas every week.

This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Today I finished The Culture Code. Amazing book. Started reading The Goal.

Use questions instead of orders

Bell lab habit that created people that created tons of patents: eating in cafeteria with Mike. Mike followed exact routine every day. Mike was warm. Mike was relentlessly curious.

Creative Leadership: different from normal leadership where it’s getting from A to B — it’s going from A to X, unknown destination. Usually Artists. Creative engineers. Systems thinking.

Great creative teams: Non-hierarchical, giving maximum authority.

Meditation: 20minutes in the morning.

Digital Drawing: Today I started the lecture on Structuring the Nose:

As I watched, I made some slight adjustments to my portrait:

yesterday, today, and the portrait I’m going for.

Piano: Today I started with practicing I Giorno by Ludovico Einaudi with the help of Flowkey. Mid my practice, I remembered that yesterday I saw on Twitter that some people were recommending an app that sounded similar to Flowkey, called Synthesia. So I decided to check it out. Honestly was super cool. Shows the upcoming keys, like guitar hero, which is better than just the current keys and only sheet music (Flowkey).

Has several stuff for free, and for the paid tier it seems to be a one-time $29 purchase instead of the Flowkey 3-month subscription.

Next session will try it again.

Dance: Practiced The Glide, and fooled around, for the duration of one song, at night when I realized I hadn’t danced yet. With this song. Such a ridiculously fun song to dance to.

Writing: This post, code, journaling (day and night), and a short daily thought. I met with my friend Jay for a 2-hour writing session, but it ended up being a 2-hour talking session about worldviews haha.

Re Human Dynamic Activity: Saturdays I’m a Music Producer.

Played a bit in Logic Pro. Started with a project I had from last time, but I muted the tracks and created a new chord progression. Wanted to learn more about how people create songs, so I went to Youtube and found this cool youtube channel:

Learned about sidechaining!

Also watched this great Andrew Huang video breaking down what he thinks was his favorite song of 2017:

And found this other youtube channel where the guy explains how to make different types of music (in a funny way but with some not-good habits he has):

Fitness: Today I practiced human flag push ups, handstands, abs, and an exercise I really like doing: doing one burpee, then sprinting to the end of the gym space and sprint back. Then do two burpees and sprint again. Then three, etc. until the last set is 10 burpees, all with sprints in between.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I did 3 around the worlds in a row without the ball falling in between (which is the same as my record) but no consecutive around the worlds.

Random More Skill Learning

Today I also watched a couple of videos on video creation, and started this ‘course’ on Skillshare about creating animated explainer videos:

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly present of the best content I’ve ever found, and updates, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com