Re Human Day 90

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Today my good friend Nicolas wanted to shadow me doing the Re Human activities so we did them all together. It was fun.

Daily Habits

Books: Today I continued listening to Can’t Hurt Me. Also started reading Why Greatness Cannot be Planned in my iPad’s Kindle app. Some notes from today:

When you’re thinking about your team, you forget about your pain.

Same as how we get callous in our hands, we can build that strength in our minds.

I’m not crazy, I’m just not like you.

The most powerful tool in the world is your mind.

Meditation: 20 minutes in the afternoon. Did two meditations from Sam Harris’ Waking Up app.

Re Human Extended Activity: Saturdays I’m a Music Producer.

Today I googled “how to become great at music production” and read 5 articles about it. Found out about some useful tips, tools, and courses. Two particularly cool ones are Soundgym a “Audio ear training and learning center for producers” where you basically listen to things, play games, and learn to tune your listening skills, so you can produce better. And Syntorial, another program for recognizing how sounds are made, to learn how to make any sound you listen. Downloaded Syntorial, and will definitely try both of these in my next sessions. This is how the first Syntorial “demonstration” and “challenge” looked:

Super interesting that it’s an application you download instead of a video tutorial.

Writing: This post, code, and a daily thought.

Digital Drawing & Painting:

Today I read “Drawing from the Right Side of the Brain” more, and did an exercise they had, to demonstrate the challenge of drawing with the left side of the brain. Basically it’s drawing the classic side-face & vase drawing, while saying out loud the parts of the face you’re drawing. Language & symbols are on our left side of the brain, which limits you when drawing — this is felt when drawing the reflection of the face on the other right side (started with left side).

Fitness: Today I was able to do a couple of handstand push ups, a couple of times. Wow. I had always thought those looked so cool and so hard. Turns out the hard part is getting technique, to be able to get balance in handstands. Strength to do the push up part isn’t too bad (maybe because I had already built that up). At the beginning of my workout I did “max pull ups”, 44, at the end of my workout, I did 100 consecutive burpees — super hard, almost threw up but I love pushing myself to my limits and feeling it.

Piano: Practiced the La La Land song.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I was able to do a max of 4 around the worlds in a row!

Random Surprise

Interesting thought:

The opposite of distraction is not focus. It’s attraction. Build attraction by remembering the why.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com