5-Week Half Marathon Training — Week 2

Follow the journey from 10k runner to marathoner.

Henri Heinonen
Runner's Life
2 min readNov 11, 2019

--

Now it is week 2 of the 5-week half marathon training series. Week 1 was published last Monday.

Note:

I’m not training for any specific marathon. For me, training and writing about it are stress-relieving therapy. I’ll most likely complete the half marathon distance on my own time. If I find a suitable event during the 5-week training, then I might consider attending.

Week 2 Completed

Something happened at the start of the week as due to getting lost, I ended up running over half marathon distance, 22 kilometers. I was forced to run due to the cold weather after getting lost. I published a story about the adventure. It was more painful than it sounds, though.

Week 2 Runs

Monday: 22 kilometers ≈ 13.7 miles (Off-Road + Forest)

Tuesday: 3.5 kilometers ≈ 2.2miles ( 2.8 kilometers at Marathon pace and 500 meters full speed)

Wednesday: 9.7 kilometers ≈ 6 miles (Easy)

Sunday: Around 6 kilometers ≈ 3.7 miles (10 x 90 sec full speed + 10 x 90 sec jogging)

Total Estimated: 41.2 kilometers ≈ 25.6 miles

I have a plan to take only 1 day off per week, but for week 2, I took three days off.

This week’s busy life got me, and I didn’t have the energy to run between Thursday and Saturday. The long-run at the start of the week had its own effect on the training as well.

I had a low energy level and it affected my running. I have been doing regular stretching during the week which helps with the pain in my hip flexors. I haven’t been doing long stretches, mostly just 30 to 60 secs. Then I do movement training with maximum 2-sec holds.

I have been following the instructions for movement training by watching some of the youtube videos from Natural Bootcamp. Those focus on stretching the Fascia lines by natural movement.

Week 1, Week 3 and Week 4 are live!

--

--

Henri Heinonen
Runner's Life

Entrepreneur | 1 x Founder | Passionate tech guy from countryside. Internet is value. I like to challenge my mental and physical muscles in various activities.