The Best Tweets I Can Remember Before Twitter Dies

Dave Wheelroute
Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar
9 min readNov 18, 2022
Image from CNBC

“Moon’s haunted.”

Apparently, Twitter will be dead by dawn. I don’t fully believe it yet. It’s hard to imagine Elon Musk throwing away $44 billion. But he’s also a dipshit, so who knows? Either way, my annual “Best Tweets of the Year” article (2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) for 2022 was going to be my last. I don’t use Twitter now, except for self-promotion and one night when I had a lot of thoughts. (My best tweet was “Futzpah: A Jewish foot spa.”) But my list of the best tweets was going to end in 2022. Since Twitter seems to be dying now, I figured I’d jump the gun forty-four days early. I know lots of people will have fond memories and it could be kind of madcap fun sometimes (Dril, Ken Tremendous, the Sports Pickle, Henry Winkler, Mina Kimes, live events, Wasserman), but it’s probably for the best that it’s dying. Anyway, here are the best tweets I could remember. I was scrambling to find them like I was inside the Library of Alexandria while it was burning. They’re in no order, but I will specify which one is my favorite. And like always, the joke is ruined if I explain it. So, I present them without comment or context. Goodbye and good riddance.

This is the best:

And a final farewell:

--

--

Dave Wheelroute
Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar

Writer of Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar & The Television Project: 100 Favorite Shows. I also wrote a book entitled Paradigms as a Second Language!