Memoir and Science

A New Allergy Research in “Science” Sparked My Childhood Memories

During a school holiday, I couldn’t resist buying my favorite roasted peanuts as gifts for my childhood friends living in a Mediterranean village and causing trouble to a friend.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA
Published in
9 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

The image was created by Dr Mehmet Yildiz using Adobe Firefly and a photo by cottonbro studio from Pexels.

As I reminisced in my memoirs, one of the cherished pastimes of my childhood during school breaks involved visiting my grandparents. Together with my friends, we eagerly participated in snail-hunting adventures amidst the serene landscapes of their farm nestled in a Mediterranean village.

When I turned eight, we readied our suitcases and gathered plenty of gifts for my friends. I wanted to do some science experiments on the farm while playing with my friends. During my childhood, nuts ranked among my favorite foods, especially roasted and salted peanuts. Later, I learned that peanuts were really not nuts but legumes.

Peanuts held a special place in my heart. I could have indulged endlessly if my parents hadn’t intervened. On one occasion, I overindulged to the point of a dreadful stomach ache.

It taught me a valuable lesson about moderation, not only with peanuts but also with other beloved treats like…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com