Writing Inspiration

How Mastering Procedural Memory Can Take Your Writing to the Next Level

By improving your procedural memory with practice, your writing might become more productive and reach new levels of success.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA
Published in
13 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Photo by addy bronzzz on Pexels

Are you struggling to find the right words and sentences when writing?

As a writer, I understand the struggles of putting words on the page. In a previous article, I shared my personal writing productivity, mentioning that I can write 2,500 words in an hour and typically complete 10,000 words daily for my profession and hobbies as a prolific writer. But I couldn’t do it in my younger years. I was stuck.

I understand that for some new writers, writing over 2000 words in an hour may seem impossible. I remember my struggles as a beginner when I couldn’t even write a hundred words in my field without feeling overwhelmed by writer’s block. Later I discovered that it was a lack of cognitive experience that I will unfold in this article.

As it happened to me, if you’re struggling with writer’s block or finding the right words to create a story or a book, it’s not because you’re not capable or intelligent. It’s because you haven’t yet established the procedural memory to make writing automatic…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com