What Bed Making Says About Your Partner

How this simple household chore can be a window into people’s personality

Kiki Wellington
Sex…With a Side of Quirk

--

Man and woman making the bed together, showing their playful personality traits as they handle their white sheets
Photo by serezniy on DepositPhotos

Although it just takes a couple of minutes to do, making the bed in the morning is a household chore that many people tend to avoid. I know from firsthand experience because I’m one of them. Maybe your partner is too, and it drives you crazy. But did you know that bed making habits can be a window into other personality traits?

When I ran across a survey of 2,000 people by Sleepopolis about their bed making habits, I perked up with interest as I looked over at my messy bed that right now is housing a couple of books I’m in the middle of reading. To say my bed isn’t pristine is an understatement, but what else does this say about me and others who don’t make time for bed making in the morning?

According to the survey, people who don’t make the bed are also prone to:

  • Being night owls
  • Enjoying comedy shows and movies
  • Listening to rock music
  • Being sarcastic
  • Being curious
  • Being moody

Okay, I’ll accept these results. Sounds like not making the bed all the time makes me pretty damned cool.

--

--