Should You Use Condoms With Sex Toys?

If you don’t, you may be neglecting another level of protection

Kiki Wellington
Sex…With a Side of Quirk

--

Photo by liudmilachernetska@gmail.com on DepositPhotos

It’s National Condom Week, and you may be learning some facts about condoms that you never heard before. As I was interviewing experts for my condom myths article, I know I learned something I hadn’t heard before when Bathmate sex expert Kerri Middleton let me know that we should use condoms with our sex toys. I inquired about this further and this is the information she gave me.

What are some reasons that people should use condoms when they’re playing with sex toys?

Sharing sex toys with other people can spread sexually transmitted infections (STIs) and bacterial infections due to the bodily fluids held by the toy, so it’s important to use a condom if this applies to you. As much of the public dialogue around condoms is about preventing pregnancy, we rarely ever consider using protection with a sex toy, but it is an issue we should be talking about more.

Not only does it stop the spread of STIs, but also bacterial infections, which can be equally as painful and embarrassing. There has been some concern over the potentially harmful material phthalates, which can be added in the manufacturing stage to make the toy flexible. Even if your toy doesn’t contain this material, bacteria and other nasties…

--

--