5 Tips to Excel In Polytechnic | #CrystalizeMyLearning (Jan 2022)

Lye Jia Jun
SGExams
Published in
7 min readJan 24, 2022

--

This article is written part of the #CrystalizeMyLearning movement I founded where I seek to learn through writing | Jan 2022 Edition

Dear juniors,

To say the least, choosing a polytechnic education has genuinely changed my life. This may be best explained in another article. However, to sum it up, my polytechnic journey has truly been a tremendous journey of growth.

Regardless, I know what you are here for! You want to be a better student and excel in polytechnic!

I am no expert in studying techniques nor am I the most knowledgeable person when it comes to the Polytechnic education system in Singapore. However, I am positive my lived experience can be beneficial for anyone who is currently pursuing (or considering) a polytechnic education.

First and foremost…

To provide some context for all readers:

I am Jia Jun, a recent graduate of Nanyang Polytechnic with a Diploma in Cybersecurity & Forensics. #ClassOf2021!

Nanyang Polytechnic Graduation 2021

Having shared my polytechnic experience in numerous events, I felt like writing an article would allow me to reach a broader audience and create a greater, lasting impact.

Today, there are plenty of resources available for poly students. Some great resources include Teleschope.sg and Four Blind Mice. Nonetheless, I hope my sharing would help you glean new perspectives and contribute to you excelling in polytechnic!

What you are here for

Without further ado, let me share my 5 best tips to do well in polytechnic.

  1. Understanding the system
  2. Tracking your progress
  3. Finding like-minded friends
  4. Consulting your lecturers
  5. Exploring beyond academics

To better understand each tip, please continue to read on for further elaboration.

Understanding the System

As with anything you do, I firmly believe that understanding the system/context helps you to perform better.

Want to be the best dart player? Maybe understanding the rules and points system of the game of dart would help you accomplish this goal.
Want to cut down a tree faster? Perhaps you would benefit from understanding the tree’s anatomy or how to use an axe efficiently.

Want to do well in polytechnic? Understand the polytechnic system!!!

How is GPA calculated? Do all classes have similar weightage on your GPA? Does attendance contribute to GPA? How do I qualify for the director’s list?

By simply asking yourself these questions and actively working towards finding the answers, I assure you would gradually become more knowledgeable about the polytechnic system.

This helps you make more informed decisions about how you can work effectively to accomplish your goal of becoming a better student.

Tracking your progress

As the famous saying goes:

If you can’t measure it, you can’t improve it — Peter Drucker

This is echoed in many well-established organizations such as Google and Facebook. If such big and successful organizations are doing this to increase productivity, why aren’t you!

You may be wondering… why is tracking your progress so important? How will that help you become a better student? Why do you need to spend time and effort tracking your progress?

Well, I believe tracking your progress will make you a better student in 3 ways

  1. By tracking your academic progress, you will gain greater awareness about your current academic standing. In many cases, this awareness is critical in decision-making.
    (Should I go out with my friends or focus on my project? Maybe you would choose the latter if you realize you have been falling behind in class!)
  2. Understanding which classes you’re weaker in allows you to dedicate your focus more strategically.
    Spending an equal amount of time and effort for all classes is not a good strategy! Instead, emphasize a different amount of focus by considering which subjects you are weaker in and the credit weightage of the class (this can only be done if you internalize tip #1!)
  3. Lastly, seeing your progress and past achievement serves as a motivation for you to continue working hard.
    Not everyone needs this but it can only help!

How Can I Track Progress?

  • The structure of polytechnic makes it very easy to track your progress. Each graded assignment and test is associated with one module. Each module is associated with one semester (with the exception of some modules like Final Year Project)
  • To track progress, you can simply create a simple table like this
Example Polytechnic Grades Tracker
  • Of course, the template I showed above is just an example but you can definitely build on top of it and track your progress even more effectively!

So what are you waiting for? Grab a pen and paper or pull up an excel sheet to track your progress now!!

Finding like-minded friends

A study done by Harvard found

a strong association between happiness and close relationships like spouses, family, friends, and social circles. “Personal connection creates mental and emotional stimulation, which are automatic mood boosters, while isolation is a mood buster,” says Dr. Waldinger. This is also an opportunity to focus on positive relationships and let go of negative people in your life, or at least minimize your interactions with them

TLDR; relationship makes you happy.

How does this relate to doing well in polytechnic?

Well, because being happier leads to higher productivity and that directly contributes to your good grades. Furthermore, having friends to bounce ideas and seek support to expand on your learnings is priceless.

To all readers, I’m sure you won’t have any issues finding friends. However, I hope you put in more effort to cultivate meaningful friendships — not just to excel in school, but for your own happiness too!

Pro Tip: Joining extracurricular activities (such as sport or academic clubs) are a great way to find and make new friends!

Consulting your lecturers

Teachers provide the power of education to today’s youth. Your lecturers have undergone many years of formal education to become a lecturer. They are the ultimate treasure trove of information and wisdom. (second to Mr. Google of course 😆)

They are often the ones who create or revise your course content. They are the ones who are responsible for imparting knowledge to you. They are also the ones who ultimately give you your As.

My point is this — your lecturer/teacher is a crucial component to you excelling in polytechnic.

So please… consult your lecturers and learn as much as you can from them!

Exploring beyond academics

If you made it this far, congratulations! I’ll gladly share with you what I believe is the most important tip for you to excel in polytechnic and beyond.

If you ask me what is the best part of my polytechnic experience, I wouldn’t hesitate to say that it was not the academics.

It’s not that the academics weren’t fantastic and intriguing for me.

It is merely how transformative other experiences were for my personal growth and development.

From founding my own club (NYP Developer Student Club) to participating in exciting startup idea pitching competitions, my paradigm towards the world has undergone an unbelievable transformation.

Maybe this warrants another elaborate article on its own.

Nonetheless, if there is one takeaway I hope you can get from this article, it is this — excelling isn’t about being the top performer of your course, it is about becoming better and wiser through activities that have the potential to transform the way you think and live.

Closing thoughts

There you go! The top 5 tips for excelling in polytechnic.

  1. Understanding the system
  2. Tracking your progress
  3. Finding like-minded friends
  4. Consulting your lecturers
  5. Exploring beyond academics

It has been a real pleasure to write this article. I wish that this will be a valuable resource for everyone.

Remember, to excel is not to become the strongest academically. Developing a growth mindset, transforming your world views, and discovering your inner self is undeniably the best way for you to excel in polytechnic.

Cheers!

This article is written as part of the #CrystalizeMyLearning movement where I seek to accelerate my learning through writing and contribute my knowledge and wisdom to the wider community.

If this resonates with you, I welcome you to follow my journey and drop me a follow on LinkedIn or Medium! I am also more than happy to connect with you! Feel free to reach out to me on LinkedIn!

You can also learn more about the #CrystalizeMyLearning movement here!

← January Article | February Article

--

--

Lye Jia Jun
SGExams
Writer for

Tech enthusiast exploring AI Safety, Startups, and Venture Capital | Former Google DSC Lead & Valedictorian