Coffee Tales: Cappuccino Decaf

… when you feel overly protective

Mary Papas
Short Shorts

--

Photo by Justus Menke on Unsplash

Dorothy puts the coffee cup on the table.

Here’s your cappuccino decaf, darling.

You did well switching from regular to decaf—all that caffeine didn’t let you sleep well all those years. The whipped cream is to die for; please don’t eat it all at once though, your blood sugar is high again.

How about I make vegetarian lasagna for lunch? Going to add spinach, carrot, celery, tomatoes and mushrooms. Less calories, more flavor. Forget about bacon strips and beef, didn’t we say last night these are off limits? Alright, if you want to go all technical, I am the one who actually said it and you said nothing, which means you agreed. Don’t go back on your word now!

You want another cup of cappuccino decaf? Darling, decaf doesn’t mean you can drink as much as you want. Alright, alright, I will make you one more cup, but that’s it for today alright? And no whipped cream for that one!

Did I tell you our son called an hour ago? He will come over for dinner tomorrow. Something is off with that kid. Ever since he lost his job, he doesn’t know what he is talking about. He will start saying you are dead again and that I am talking to your photos and that I should go visit a shrink.

Can you believe that?

Read more Coffee Tales: Coffee Tales: Latte , Coffee Tales: Espresso

--

--

Mary Papas
Short Shorts

Author, content creator, copywriter and translator. If writing didn't exist, I wouldn't have a voice. My books: https://rb.gy/tepnb