FOR LOVE OR PEANUT BUTTER

You Can’t Always Get What You Want

But if you cry sometimes, you might find… You still want the same thing.

Kelly Shanley
Slackjaw
Published in
8 min readNov 26, 2021

--

Illustration by Emily Clouse

We’re down to the finals. It’s Carter vs. Dex. Hot Neighbor vs. Dick Pic Guy. Good on Paper vs. Recently Separated. Who will emerge the legume intolerant victor of my heart? Only one way to find out…

Carter and I had our next date at his house again. Did I wish we could go out to a restaurant so I could see how he treated the waiter and how well he tipped? Of course. Could we do that? Nope, lockdown. I couldn’t use my old tricks. I had to go completely off of my own instincts. It was terrifying.

When I arrived, Carter looked like a kid with a secret that he couldn’t wait to blurt out.

“I’m extending my stay! I’ll be here through next week! Isn’t that great?”

He wanted me to be as excited as he was. I just couldn’t muster it. All I could think was, “Is he doing this because of me?” Which, yes I am aware, should have made me feel special, but instead made me feel anxious.

I told him that was great, but that I had a friend coming to visit so I wouldn’t be able to hang out with him very much. He backpedaled a bit and made his extension more about exploring the possibility of…

--

--

Kelly Shanley
Slackjaw

LA based writer/podcaster/comedian/mountain girl at heart. Outdoor lover, world traveler, loud laugher. https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/kelly-shanley