Mud Castles, Bipolar Storms, and Delusional Stars (And More!)

Content from the week ending June 22, 2024, and Scott’s update

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar
3 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Welcome! | Photos by author.

Links to last week’s content are at the bottom of the newsletter.

New Writers

Two new writers join our community this week. Welcome to:

  • Barry: “I have lived with a bipolar diagnosis since my late teens. I’m now 44. I’ve struggled with the label and how to assimilate my mental health condition with everyday living. I hope to journal these struggles to aid other’s journey.”
  • Obeaswan, B.Sc., M.Sc.: “Just a resident SEER, Keeper of the North, Druid Of Doirecoll. Veteran, motivational articles, mental health and LGTBQ Advocate.”

Announcements

  • Are you wondering why your stories are not getting Boosted? Medium superstar (and now employee), Zulie Rane, gives us some insight in this story.
  • You should never mention dozens of writers at the bottom of a post. It’s not only spammy but a violation of Medium’s rules.

Scott’s Weekly Update

Is the heat on?

Mother nature cranked up the thermostat here in the US this week. “The National Weather Service said roughly 15 million people were under a heat warning — the highest warning — while another 90 million were under a heat advisory.” — Source

I’m an oddity with the heat because I like it.

One symptom of Familial Mediterranean Fever (one of my conditions) is periodic fevers. Some months, I run a low-grade fever every day, and the higher internal temp makes me feel cold.

When it’s hot, like the blistering heat many are suffering from, my body is usually comfortable.

Heat is dangerous, though, and especially so if you have bipolar disorder. Excessive heat can trigger or intensify bipolar symptoms.

Is the heat on? | Image made by author with Canva AI.

To make things even more complicated, time in the sun can cause phototoxicity. The sunlight on your skin can turn the medications in your body into a toxic substance.

Ah, the joys of bipolar. Am I right?

Summer heat is just another area where you have to consider your bipolar disorder before anything else.

You might love some time at the beach and lounging at the pool, but do so with caution. Take time to understand how your meds work and what precautions you need to follow.

I like the heat, but I’m mostly staying indoors. Experience has taught me that working in the yard on these 95+ degree days can trigger headaches, rashes, and depression.

So I keep myself safe and only work outside in the morning before it gets hot.

Living a successful life with mental illness takes constant effort. If you’re feeling worse with the increased heat, you’re not imagining it.

The higher temperatures can make bipolar worse, so keep yourself cool. And if it’s safe with your meds, it’s the best time to enjoy blender drinks.

Cheers to you!

Until next time, keep fighting.

Scott Ninneman, Editor

Best of Speaking Bipolar

New writers welcome. Share your mental illness journey, poetry, and mental health tips by writing for Speaking Bipolar on Medium. Click here to find out how.

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Editor of Speaking Bipolar on Medium and author of SpeakingBipolar.com. You can thrive with mental illness. Links: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia