Simplify Your Life With These 8 Timeless Principles

”… and get closer to your goals every single day.”

The Startup
Published in
6 min readApr 25, 2019

--

“We control our actions, but the consequences that flow from those actions are controlled by principles” — Stephen Covey

Self-made billionaire, Ray Dalio, is the founder of Bridgewater Associates. They are the world’s largest hedge fund, managing over $160 billion in global investments.

Dalio attributes his success to a core set of principles, which he says, “serve as the foundations for behaviour that get you what you want out of life.”

Principles, however, are not just for the ‘Ray Dalio’s’ of the world.

On the 8th of October 2013, I experienced my first day clean after 15 years of chronic heroin addiction. Since then, I’ve become a PhD student, a keynote speaker, a writer, and a lecturer at the top two universities in my country.

I’ve also recently acquired a book deal with a mainstream publisher, and I’m in talks with Virgin Media (Ireland’s number one commercial broadcaster) about a TV show concerning the tactics I used to change my life.

So what changed? How did I go from addict to PhD in the space of 5 years?

I developed a set of principles for every aspect of my life. They have not only…

--

--

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup

Change is possible. I write to show that | Recovered heroin addict turned doctor. www.brianpennie.com