Review

Naenka Runner Diver 2 — Professional Swimming Headphones

Finally, a headphone where I liked the bone conduct system

Jakub Jirak
TechLife

--

Image courtesy of the author

As it happens, if you dedicate your time to something long enough, eventually, someone will notice you. In this case, it was Naenka who offered me an unpaid collaboration. I could have refused such a collaboration like many others before, but since the company offered me the opportunity to try an interesting product, I didn’t hesitate long, and we embarked on a collaboration in which I first wrote a review of the cheaper Naenka Runner Pro 2 headphones, where we verified our mutual trust that the moment I was sent the product I would not just keep it and the company would remain without a review.

Start Collaboration with Naenka

Since the first cooperation was successful we agreed on a long-term cooperation, yes unpaid. It’s not that I don’t know how to negotiate, but I realize that the size of my blog is not huge, at least now. Getting hardware that I can test and write about for free, I don’t see as an impoliteness or even an opportunity because the fact that we had this cooperation as unpaid doesn’t mean that some other cooperation won’t be paid or that another company won’t approach me with paid cooperation.

It is, therefore an investment in the future. The headphones I reviewed today can also be considered as an investment in the future because compared to the first ones I reviewed from Naenka, they are as if they were made by someone completely different 😲. Personally, I was very surprised, but when you put two and two together, it actually makes sense. The headphones reviewed today cost practically 2x as much. So it would be bad if it wasn’t noticeable.

Sound transmission

The sound is transmitted via the head bones. My first experience with this sound transmission was just with the Naenka Runner Pro 2 headphones, where I had some reservations about it. Overall, this sound transmission is very much about habit.

However, in the case of the Naenka Runner Diver 2 headphones reviewed today, it’s a completely different experience. Personally, I think the design is somewhat to blame as these headphones felt a tad smaller than the previously reviewed ones and because of that, they fit my head much better and certainly resulted in better sound transfer.

Contents of the package

The headphones offer a very rich array of accessories within their package. You’ll find earplugs, earplugs and a charging cable. The headphones have been nicely stored in the box to prevent them from moving around in transit.

Package content — Naenka Runner Diver 2 — image courtesy of the author

My first impression of the package was very good, I didn’t even know what all the earplugs were for, well, after all, it was a swimming accessory to keep water out of your ears, I was a medium size, and I must say that it is a nice thing only while you are swimming, once someone decides to join you, then the earplugs rather bothered me, but that will be rather unique in the professional segment of swimmers.

Delivery

The headphones were sent to me by Naenka along with the case, which I reviewed here. By shipping the headphones and the greeting together, the package size probably extended the delivery time itself. The headphones and the case came in one larger envelope, and both the headphones and the case within that envelope still had separate wrapping after unwrapping, which I got right to the wrapped products. I have to admit that if you are worried about damage during shipping, then it probably won’t be completely out of place. The Naenka company did a really great job in this.

First impression of the headphones

I’ve been testing the headphones for about 2 weeks now, rather during sporting activities like running, walking or swimming. Since I subjectively found these headphones to deliver sound much better, I also played songs that didn’t quite make sense on the previously reviewed headphones. As I wrote earlier, it felt like I now had headphones from a completely different manufacturer, so a big shift in sound quality has taken place here between generations.

Naenka Runner Diver 2 — image courtesy of the author

This method of sound transmission may indeed be the future of what it might look like in some futuristic future, but I still believe there will be people like me who won’t give up on active noise cancellation. I decided to test the headphones on the running track and in the swimming pool. To make matters worse I also subjected the headphones to a field test while grocery shopping on the way to the stores, moving around the stores and on the way home. I also tested the headphones for you in the car. And how did it all turn out?

Running

Aside from being a great activity to clear your head, the headphones feel great on your head while you’re doing it, and they carry the music so that we also get a sense of our surroundings. Due to the way, the headphones are constructed and the way the sound is transmitted, there is no transfer of the stomping sound when running to your ears and thus, it is not distracting for you when doing sports activities.

Photo by Nigel Msipa on Unsplash

Swimming pool

It seems that this type of swimming is not extremely widespread in the local area as I was the only one in all the visits to the pool who walked in with headphones 😅. After a few pools, I concluded that this is an interesting addition to this activity. From my point of view, it would be a very nice addition even to aqua parks where you can leave with a big headache just because of the excited children.

Photo by Gentrit Sylejmani on Unsplash

Normally I go swimming for 45 minutes so I left the pool after two hours because I completely lost track of time. The Naenka company will be pleased because my head served as a walking advertisement for their product, and several people asked me what the headphones were and where they could get them. This gets me to say that, just like last time, I have negotiated an exclusive 15% discount with Naenka when you enter the discount code Jakub.

15% Discount Code: Jakub
Runner Diver2 Swimming Headphones:
https://www.naenka.com/products/runner-diver2-bone-conduction-headphones-for-sports

Walking and shopping experience

I decided to test the headphones in normal “traffic” my model example was that we ran out of milk, so I headed to the store with the headphones. In the context of walking, the headphones were a nice addition for me, where I could enjoy the birds singing and my favourite performers. Hence, it’s not something I outright seek out, and again I’m inclined to say that walking the same path with ANC headphones is a more pleasant experience for me, but how was it in the store?

Photo by Johannes Andersson on Unsplash

Moving around the store itself was very pleasant Thanks to these headphones, I could hear all the announcements at all times and was able to react better to situations that arise in stores thanks to the fact that you can still hear the surroundings. However, with the regular headphones I take like this, I can turn on transparency mode in the store, and I’m pretty much the same.

Experience in the car

Since I wasn’t travelling anywhere by bus or train during this period, I decided to simulate this situation while travelling by car, where I put music on my headphones and checked to see if I was disturbing my fellow passengers, and world wonders no one complained.

Design: potential for adjustability

I enjoyed these headphones from a design point of view. As I mentioned in a previous review, I could imagine some adjustable-size headphones because they may not fit every head this way.

Conclusion

The Runner Diver 2 headphones are a specific choice for those seeking an unusual way of transmitting sound through bone conduction technology. If you are an athlete looking for headphones for running, biking, and swimming, this may be an interesting choice.

However, it’s not a product for everyone and the preference for louder listening with Active Noise Cancellation (ANC) remains. Plus, you can take advantage of an exclusive 15% discount with the code “Jacob” when you shop on the Naenka website. These headphones represent a new way to experience pools, and it’s worth checking out.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article! If you enjoyed it, I appreciate your support through likes 👏🏻 and comments 💬. And if you want more content like this, don’t forget to follow me! Cheers 😊👌👋

Please consider direct support of my work: https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak

Image courtesy of the author — created with Mindjourney

Ps: If you want to make me happy, try looking at this article. It gave me a lot of work, but not many people read it.

--

--

Jakub Jirak
TechLife

Content creator | Cat dad | Writing about Technology, Apple, and Innovations. | Proud editor of Mac O'Clock. | Support me at https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak