Reasons Medium Readers Gave for the Number of Claps

What does It Mean When You Give 17 Claps?

Augusta Khalil Ibrahim
The Athenaeum
9 min readSep 9, 2017

--

Deciphering the Clap Data

Why do we give the number of claps that we do?

Here are the reasons Medium readers choose to clap — for each clap quantity, 1–50.

One Clap

I enjoyed your post as much as reading the back of a Babe Ruth wrapper.
I assure you, not a rude single clap at all, it’s positive.
Because Heath Houston is kind, generous and funny.
My claps don’t work and my heart is broken.
You’re a funny writer, I must give one clap.
Voulez-vouz coucher avec moi ce soir?
I am damning you with faint praise.
Philip Hoare and The North Water.
To get my dog to stop eating poop.
Spare change as a tip for service.
I didn’t know I could give more.
You made me more famous.
It challenges objectivity.
Must try to do better.
You did a shit job.
One penny tip
To catch a fly.
It’s a prayer.
Fantastic.
I liked it.
It’s fine.

Two Claps

I’m giving you the clap again. Better two than one, eh?

It was too good not to break my one-clap rule.
They brought new information and I liked it.
I’m dispensing love here.

Three Claps

I’m giving everyone 5, unless I miss and give them 3, like I’m doing now.
I liked it, it was news, one extra clap for each new thing.
My OCD dosen’t mesh well with the clapping thing.
Come on, at least I’m not ignoring you.
For the bitterness, for cats, for fun.

Four Claps

Seagulls shitting on a Rembrandt.
Rounding it up to 500
Equals one heart.
I am honored.
I enjoyed it.

Five Claps

I’m giving everyone 5, unless I miss.
I never give anyone less than five.
He’s a brilliant writer.

Six Claps

I only meant to give you five and held my finger down one nanosecond too long.

Seven Claps

Prince was playing and 7 is my favourite song.
Your post is bad. I award 7 claps
.
I really liked it.

Eight Claps

The counter went wild.
Just randomness.
Have a good day.

Nine Claps

First I gave you 9, then I tried to reduce but then I gave you 3 extra.
I wanted to round up to get you to 17,000.
Also lives, cats, knives.

Eleven Claps

Eleven is a winning number; it’s half of 22; it’s just sexy.
You can delete claps on the website
but not iOs. So…

Twelve-and-a-half Claps

12.5 or 13, I don’t know which.

Thirteen Claps

I’m shooting blanks.
You’re winning.
For that.
A compliment.

Fourteen Claps

I had to clap you up to 2333.
This post is good.

Fifteen Claps

I wanted to give you 15 but medium made me give you more.

Sixteen Claps

Because Love.

Seventeen Claps

I guess I was the only one who thought that was funny.
I hope it dosen’t screw up your metrics.
For quoting the author giving 17 claps.
To prove Jason Li wrong.
I just wanted to.
I agree; ok, 50.

Eighteen Claps

I enjoy it

I enjoy 😊 it too.

Nineteen Claps

Read the full explanation here.

Twenty Claps

I actually thought about the same thing and started an article but never finished it. I won’t bother now, thanks.
You made me laugh and I got tired of pressing the button when I got to 20.

Twenty-one Claps

Twenty-one

Twenty-two Claps

This space is for you —if you’ve ever given 22 claps, let us know why in the comments below.

Twenty-three Claps

You’re welcome.

Twenty-four Claps

Nobody has given 24 claps and told the tale voluntarily. You can be the first.

Twenty-five Claps

23 of these claps were ironic.

Twenty-six Claps

Who dosen’t love 26? Tell us why.

Twenty-seven Claps

My internet died, now we have the clap haiku.

Twenty-eight Claps

I try to have the total end at 28. It was my number when I played fourth team soccer my third form year of boarding school. Also it’s a multiple of four.

Twenty-nine Claps

29 is my archest of enemies.

Thirty Claps

This is as good as reading a book about whaling.

Thirty-one Claps

How many times a day can you do this before getting Carpal Tunnel Syndrome?

Thirty-two Claps

Do you have a carpal tunnel in your finger?

Thirty-three Claps

You could say you are giving them the finger instead of clapping.

Thirty-four Claps

You are literally giving people your finger. It will become gangrenous, wither and die if you keep this up.

Thirty-five Claps

It was a trivial message but I tried to see if I could game the system.
I wore 35.

Thirty-six Claps

Are you sacrificing your finger health on the altar of validating others?

Thirty-seven Claps

How many times a day can you do this and still recover completely?

Thirty-eight Claps

Anybody done any studies? I’m guessing you’d like to keep your fingers healthy.

Thirty-nine Claps

Switch to thumbs on my cellphone.

Forty Claps

As good as reading a book about bullfights.

Forty-one Claps

What happens if I just keep my finger there?

Forty-two Claps

Wow, now the claps are kinda snowballing.

Forty-three Claps

Your arms are beginning to hurt now too.

Forty-four Claps

You’re going with the flow on this one.

Forty-five Claps

No point in stopping now.

Forty-six Claps

Almost there

Forty-seven Claps

Four more.

Forty-eight Claps

Three

Forty-nine Claps

Two

Fifty Claps

The mouse escaped nine knives, nine cats, nine lives.
Seriously, you’re better than this place.
Why the fuck did you publish it here?
50 claps better than one clap.
I always give aces.
You deserved it.
Go all the way.

If you are so kind as to clap for this story,
remember to let Medium readers know the why and the wherefore
in the comments section below.
Especially if you clap an unusual number.
We are all dying to know.

Illustrations all my own work.

Please share on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, LinkedIn or other Social Media if you think your friends and contacts might enjoy 😊 this article.

--

--