What About American on American Terrorism?

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious
Published in
3 min readOct 16, 2015
Photo by Kevin Dooley on Flickr.

For me, the most difficult part about writing is starting. And by starting, I don’t mean figuring out what I am going to write about; that part is rather easy for me. What I’m referring to is actually sitting down in front of a computer and actually getting started. Once I finally carve out enough time in the day to make that sluggish first step… I always try to sprint to the finish line at break-neck speed.

Comatose started back in the Summer of 2014. During that time, the murders of Mike Brown, John Crawford, Ezell Ford, Tamir Rice, Akai Gurley, this unarmed black man murdered by police… that unarmed black man murdered by police… all that became increasingly evident in the media. Naturally as a black man who lives in America and as someone who is aware of history, I knew that the only thing that was changing was the visibility of the murders, and not the prevalence of them.

When I first made my feelings known on Comatose; I tried to be as diplomatic as possible without diminishing the egregiousness of the way this country continues to wrong black folk in every way imaginable. But over time… as I saw people rationalize those state-sponsored murders, I had enough. I became more and more confrontational, and I was no longer willing to compromise with people who saw those deaths as “tragic mistakes” as opposed to what they actually were… opportunistic murders.

One talking-point about the police violence debate that bothered me in particular was the ever popular whataboutism I’ve heard people of all races utter in response to black folk being wrongfully murdered by those paid to “serve and protect”:

What about Black-on-Black crime?

It bothered me because I remember a lot of things from when 9/11 happened. But one thing I don’t remember hearing anyone of any race ask:

What about American on American terrorism?

Terrorism became a major talking-point on that day. Terrorism is still a talking point to this day, and it’s hard to ignore. ISIS was everywhere in the news at the time I wrote my piece on Black-on-Black crime.

I was in a restaurant one day and I noticed someone who was watching CNN coverage of ISIS and Syria. I then heard that person remark:

We should kill those people!

… I had enough.

So I sat down and finally articulated all of the thoughts that were swirling in my head for months.

I have many articles and essays in my head I have simply never gotten around to write. I’m usually passionate about whatever I choose to write about. So when I don’t write and present my thoughts… those same thoughts burn a hole into my chest. And those thoughts keep burning until I finally decide to breathe the flame out.

Listen to What About American on American Terrorism?:

Written by Basil Benjamin of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

New State, New Life ← Previous — Next → No Time

--

--

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.