THE DIARIST ENTRY PROMPT

Meaningful Work Doesn’t Always Pay Well

But it is entirely necessary for the survival of our species!

Published in
8 min readMar 15, 2024

--

My young self tending the greenhouse garden experiment my last year of college, 2016 — photo used by permission of the photographer

In response to the fifty-two weeks with your diary, The Diarist entry prompt: what is meaningful work?

March 7, 2024

Where It All Started

I finally made it to the place I longed for, with my some of my dreams anyway. Days roll by, words are written, time spent endlessly on creative pursuits that bring me joy.

Though, something is missing.

Memories visit me on my Facebook account that I’ve had for around fifteen years. Pictures from my favorite job pop up every now and again, the time I was the garden manager at the university I attended.

I was a senior, so it was a short position, but it was so freeing and fun to be able to do experimental garden projects and lead volunteer groups weekly.

The position started out in autumn, and the sustainability director threw me into leading prairie seed collection groups out on the campus prairie. I had to learn how to identify dozens of plants that grew natively in Wisconsin. This became the start of my wild plant obsession.

--

--

Aster Lately
The Diarist

Free spirit artist living an adventurous life in alternative ways. Writing about outdoor adventure, life's questions and personal stories with photography.