4 Actionable Solutions I Do To Survive Freelancer Burnout

You will stay sane if you break the burnout cycle.

Francesca Angeles
The Everyday Freelancer
4 min readMar 30, 2023

--

Photo by Tamara Bellis on Unsplash

Imagine entering the freelance world in the hopes of having work-life balance but then ending up working harder and for longer hours.

Freelancer burnout is real and it’s happening.

Even if you love freelancing, you can’t hide the fact that burnout is just around the corner. It’s just a matter of how you’ll avoid it before it happens to you.

I’ve been freelancing since 2019. This is my 5th year and the thought of not loving what I do anymore still scares me. I’m writing this because I was burnt out once and vowed to never experience that again.

In 2021, I delivered 14 projects on Fiverr. In 2022, I got nothing. I was stressed, embarrassed, and I doubted myself.

I hated the sinking feeling of all my hard work plateauing in front of my eyes.

Giving up is easy and I could just stop freelancing altogether, but my mindset saved me. I thought to myself, “If I’m not getting opportunities here, I should probably knock somewhere else.”

I know I’m not the only one though.

After asking on Twitter about freelancer burnout and how my followers cope with it, I got this response:

Screenshot of a response to my tweet. @franthefuture

If you’re feeling burnt out, don’t be ashamed to admit it. You can only address the problem if you know exactly what the problem is.

If you’re:

  • Stressing about income inconsistency
  • Not living a routine that supports you
  • Overworking yourself
  • Doubting your skills
  • Feeling underpaid
  • Isolated

Chances are you’re experiencing freelancer burnout.

I’m not here to rub it in your face — “Ha! You’re burnt out! Quit everything because you’re hopeless!”

Instead, I’ll share 4 actionable and relatable solutions that you can try.

Actionable because you can literally do it, and relatable because I’ve already done it.

1 — Learn to say ‘no’

Setting boundaries can be tough. The lines are blurred between work and play especially for freelancers working from home.

But remember, saying ‘no’ isn’t the end of the world.

When a client asks me to revise a research summary within 24 hours, I’m accustomed to say yes. Here’s the thing: I will say yes if I want to and if my time allows it. I will say no if it meant ditching the lunch date I had planned with my Mom.

You can take breaks, take yourself out on a date, and be a successful freelancer all at once. Nothing has to go.

2 — Take simple breaks

You don’t have to plan a 7-day vacation on a European cruise because that’ll only stress you out.

I’m talking about a 5-minute walk down the street or hopping on YouTube to learn origami.

Whenever I feel a migraine coming, I drop everything and look for my dogs (they’re always sleeping at odd places at home). Spending 30-minutes of pure playtime with them uplifts me and lightens the load.

I actually keep 3 things in mind to keep my freelance life enjoyable and productive.

Your brain needs a break from work and a chance to recharge.

3 — Talk to someone

Having a solid support system is a blessing in disguise.

The emotional and professional support they offer is something priceless in times of your desperate need. Leverage your support system and talk to them when you’re feeling burnt out.

Since day 1, I’ve made a lot of friends on LinkedIn and Twitter who are happy for my small wins. They just keep cheering me on and I’m incredibly thankful for that. At this point, communication is golden to me.

Talking to even just one person can make all the difference.

4 — Diversify your income

“But I’m a freelancer and I want to keep being my own boss. I already committed to this and I’m not going back to 9–5.”

Violent reactions are okay. I get it. But that’s not what I’m talking about.

Consider offering new services and build other possible income streams. Did you know that a tree with more roots absorb more water?

When I got no Fiverr orders for my market research gig in 2022, I created more gigs.

  • “I will be your online presentation coach.”
  • “I will write a 1000-word article on any topic.”
  • “I will create cohesive templates for your business.”

By creating more roots, I allowed myself to be found by more people.

Here’s a short feedback from a client who purchased my presentation coaching service:

Screenshot of Fiverr client feedback. Please don’t mind my weird photo thumbnail.

These are all actionable because you can do these tomorrow, or better yet, today. Remember that you have control over your burnout.

If you’re feeling fried, crispy, and uninspired, take a deep breath and craft a solution to survive your burnout.

Learn to respect your own boundaries, take your well-deserved breaks, keep your support system closer, and also consider alternatives to lessen the burden you’re feeling.

Freelancer burnout is not a reflection of your worth. You’ll get through it.

If you enjoyed this, you might love this story on how It Took Me 4 Years To Find My Niche. It’s a long drive down to memory lane and a 5-minute read.

Thanks for reading! I hope you continue living a life that works for you.

--

--