The Most Important Quality of a Writer

No, it’s not good research skills.

Joydeep Biswas
The Growth Collective
2 min readApr 20, 2023

--

Neither it’s a thorough understanding of the reader.

And it’s not a good knowledge of the subject, the ability to write quality content that has a logical flow of events, focus, unity, coherence, or correctness.

It’s Patience.

Writing is the best thing that happen to me.

I write to express myself, share, and teach from my experience.

But success as a writer is hard.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I have seen fellow good writers not get any recognition initially. A big reason why a majority quit within a few weeks. I’m sure you have seen that too.

But the ones who pursue the craft and keep publishing, win at the end. Because there’s always light at the end of the tunnel.

And if you want something from the deep recess of your heart, you WILL get it.

I have seen this time and again with myself and my friends that whenever we pursued something with full heart and when there was no malice in the heart, we got what we wanted. For instance, when I took the most wickets in a cricket match. But I have never seen the opposite that someone pursued with full heart & vigour and didn’t get it. It took time but, they got it.

Perseverance is the key.

Photo by Duane Mendes on Unsplash

Also, you cannot let the slightest of doubt get in your mind from your thoughts or from other people that you will not succeed as a writer. The moment doubts arise in your mind, shoo them away.

You HAVE to believe in yourself when no one else believes in you. And work hard with the belief in your heart.

When you are a successful writer, everyone will say “The moment I laid my eyes on this guy I knew he had a writer in him.”

BS… a big fat BS… Where were these soothsayers when you were a nobody? This happens with everyone and will happen with you too.

Now, you also have to understand that they don’t owe you anything because the world only cares about results.

“…it’s not who you are underneath, it’s what you do that defines you.”

— Rachel Dawes in Batman Begins

So, get to work. Write a lot. Read a lot. Then write more.

Because the only way the fisherman learned to catch a fish was when he went fishing.

Thank you,
Joydeep Biswas

--

--

Joydeep Biswas
The Growth Collective

I walk, think, and write. || Fiction, self-help, and writing tips.