Medium Interviews Writers: Johnathan Foster

Johnathan Foster
The Haven
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2017
Winner of Medium’s Most Unsuccessful Writer Prize (October 2017)

“Medium Interviews Writers” is part of an ongoing series where the staff of Medium.com invites critically acclaimed author and “Master of Horror” Stephen King to sit down for a one-on-one with some of the most unsuccessful writers on the internet today.

Today, Mr. King interviews a newer online writer, Johnathan Foster. We turn now to a transcript of an interview which took place at Stephen King’s mansion on October 23rd, 2017.

Stephen King: Welcome, Johnathan. It’s a honor to sit down with you today and discuss some of your most mediocre work.

Johnathan Foster: *pauses and squints eyes briefly* Why, uh, thank you, Stephen. It was nice of you to invite me to your mansion in the hills of…you know, where are we exactly? The driver of that limo put a blindfold over my eyes when he picked me up an —

Stephen King: Let’s get started. I’ve been pouring over the odd stories you’ve been posting on Medium and, frankly, I just don’t get it. What drives you to write such random things?

Johnathan Foster: Well, the funny thing is, I never intended to really share with the world what was going on in my he —

Stephen King: It’s a evil ghost, isn’t it?

Johnathan Foster: Uh…I’m sorry, a ghost?

Stephen King: There’s a ancient evil ghost that tells you what to write and you can’t break away from it’s eerie influence!

Johnathan Foster: Um, no, that’s not true at all. For one thing, I don’t believe in ghosts and try to write what I’m thi —

Stephen King: Then it’s a scary spider, right? I’m guessing a spider the size of a man whispers mad riddles and unknowable knowledge into your trembling ears.

Johnathan Foster: That’s, um, not at all. I just like to write weird things that come to me early in the morning. Ever since I was a kid I was writing short stories in the vein of Monty Python meets Mystery Science Theater 3000. I think those were some of my main influences when I was younger, along with my father’s odd sense of humor. He was always telling these insane stories, trying to fool people into believing he was serious. I still do that a lot today.

Stephen King: So, how does the spider convey his mysterious messages to you?

Johnathan Foster: Stephen, there is no spider. I have no clue wha —

Stephen King: Does this man-sized spider only appear to you in dreams, or does he emerge from a webbed cocoon to terrorize a small mid-western town during a full moon?

Johnathan Foster: Ok, what are you even talking about?

Stephen King: * winking at a non-existent camera* Let’s move on. So, you were born in 1982. What was that like?

Johnathan Foster: What was what like? My birth, or 1982? *chuckling*

Stephen King: Did you grow up inside of the man-sized spider, or did the spider pluck you from your mother’s womb and fill you with magical venom that prevents you from walking around in the sunlight?

Johnathan Foster: *audible sigh* Um, this interview is going nowhere. Can I just leave?

Stephen King: Let’s move on. You like to write a lot about Superheroes and Steely Dan? Why is that?

Johnathan Foster: *sitting back down* Ok, that’s better. Well, Batman is my favorite superhero. Sometimes, I like to take the whole concept of serious heroes and add a wacky element that makes me laugh. I don’t know if other people like it, but my main goal is to make myself laugh.

Stephen King: And the Steely Dan thing?

Johnathan Foster: I grew up listening to Steely Dan. I’m 35 years old and they are still my favorite band.

Stephen King: You mean you grew up listening to Steely Dan while inside or outside of the Spider Queen’s womb of chaos and destru —

Johnathan Foster: NO! Jeez, can we stop with this spider thing?!

Stephen King: Please continue.

Johnathan Foster: *audible sigh and throat clearing* Ok, so, um yeah, Steely Dan. I always imagined the two founding members as noir detectives or hip art critics in the 1950s or 1960s. I’m really not sure why. I decided to make up some crazy story where Donald Fagen and Walter Becker, the founding members of Steely Dan, used their ultra-cool linguistic skills and college-level knowledge to insult those they came into contact with while solving crimes.

Stephen King: And these stories have been well recieved?

Johnathan Foster: No. Not really. I don’t know, I like them and they make me laugh, so that’s good enough for me. I grew up in a very small town in Ohio where little was going on, so I’m used to people not giving me feedback on what I think or create. I’m just happy to put something down on a page and if people like it, that’s fine. If they don’t, that’s fine too.

Stephen King: I don’t like what you write.

Johnathan Foster: Oh, well, that’s ok. *nervously checking wristwatch* Not that I expect any type of genuine critique from you right now, but what don’t you like about my stories?

Stephen King: Not enough spiders.

Johnathan Foster: OK! I’m done here!

Stephen King: Thank you for taking the time to chat with us about your work and your harrowing journey to escape from the Spider Queen’s evil grip.

Johnathan Foster: *has left the room already*

Stephen King: Join us next week when we talk with a haunted tortoise who’s suspected of murdering an entire family by dragging them into a swamp that catches on fire or something.

--

--