A new chapter in my life.

Having achieved a life long dream, it’s now time to deliver.

𝑚𝑖𝑙𝑙𝑠𝑧.ustwo/FAMPANY®
#TheRoadTo100
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2018

--

My name is Mills. I am Mills.

I’ve always been fascinated by the intersection of brand and life.. which for those like me who have no idea what that sentance actually means, means that I love it when brands sponsor people who do awesome things. I love it when the two worlds collide to produce a shared ultra affinity around a shared ambition and goal.

I fucking love running, I wasn't very good at it 6 months ago, or at least I wasn’t ever able, or should I say willing to believe I could be that obsentional runner shooting past you on a night out when I was walking down the very same road with a can of Carlsberg in the hand (please not I am not sponsored by Carlsberg).

meet the TRIBE Ambassadors

You remember that feeling when you were at school and the girl or boy you always had a secret crush on sends their mate over to ask you if you’ll go out with them.

Well after flirting with TRIBE for months and months they have actually asked me out!, and this isn’t going to be a one date and dumped type relationship, this is something we will be working on together for the rest of our lives.. I am now an official sponsored athlete!!! which I am over the fucking moon about.

I’ve spent the last 6 months proudly repping the TRIBE community and company (see my first ever post just below, dat T-shirt that I bought may I add!) because I whole heartedly believe in their mission (I’d write it down here if I could actually remember but that’s not the point) — they are the most genuine, values driven brand (and friends to me) I have ever come across and I have had the honour of being on their journey and they are truly on mine.

6 months ago I posted my first ever post

Not only have I now been re-energised by the fact I have a life long supply of my favourite running Nutrition but I also feel excited about documenting my 100 mile Ultra journey in a new way. I have always been camera shy, I really enjoy writing whatever shite comes out of my head but when it comes to actually putting words that come out of my mind into words that actually sound like words and not read it’s another matter..

So I have started a little running to the light YouTube channel!.. (Just call me Malcolm Millenial!) of which I am proud to say I have 2 videos, zero followers, and zero views.. Which is fair to say is another new chapter for me. Starting totally fresh, which feels good.

In the words of my hero Ronan Keating:

It’s only words
And words are all I have
To take your heart away

I woke this morning, and simply had to run, and importantly felt compelled to tell you about it… the light called me.

mail me on mills@ustwo.com if you want to talky time – or have a listen to a podcast I did with Sanctus on mental health

--

--