The Optimal Life, It’s Not Perfect, Just Better!

Choose Courage Over Comfort

It’s ok to be scared.

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
The Optimal Life
Published in
4 min readNov 5, 2022

--

If you found this piece before reading the two previous complimentary articles, I’d suggest you read those first, as it will tie in with this final piece in a 3 part series I wrote. Here is part 1: Be Vulnerable, and here is part 2: Live In The Arena.

The 3rd mantra or affirmation that pops up daily in my Reminders is one of the most difficult for me.

Choose Courage Over Comfort.

Photo by Matt C on Unsplash

This means it is easy to choose between being comfortable and doing what is convenient or effortless. To naturally be drawn to a challenge is not in our nature. It is one of the reasons that military and first responders are considered heroes. These people face danger and race into it instead of running in the other direction. While I am not a first responder or currently in the military, this affirmation reminds me that there is a growth opportunity in choosing courage over comfort.

I think of this when I’m out on a trail run, and my body is aching. My body is screaming to slow down or even stop, but I remind myself to choose the courage to push myself through the discomfort so my muscles can grow stronger. In choosing courage over comfort, I can push myself and complete the…

--

--

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
The Optimal Life

The Optimal Life, It’s Not Perfect, Just Better! I’ve been on a many decade quest to optimize my life in all areas and would love to help you do the same.