Official Declaration of Production-Year 2021–2022

A.G.
The Painter’s Almanach
4 min readAug 30, 2020

--

“SOLAR VORTEX: THE ABSTRACTION OF POSITIONALITY” [Paradoxical Painting by A.G. © 2016]

The Period 2016–2020:

My mother died in April of 2016, and I also moved into my new apartment that same Spring. So I’ve been living in the Old Village for over 4 years. I’ve created a lot of art while I was here. I had many variations on my art studio setup, what I call The Historiotheque. It’s had many configurations.

I mostly focused on music in the last year or two. Music and digital visual art, digital designs if you will. I also ran ambient sound design experiments. I worked on my rigorous design workflow management methodology. What I call ALX, for now. I used to work much more on Github, but have been doing less of it. I’m doing a lot of research. I haven’t been working on my novels much. It’s almost like I’ve been going through a depression.

I’m not as motivated as I once was to create art. I know it will pass. I still create a lot. I’m constantly posting things on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn. So you could say I’ve created a nice body of work in the last 4 years in the Old Village, though a little less productive in the last few years.

I still met my targets, though. That’s why the Official Declaration of Production-Year is forward-looking in its statements, and is always one full year ahead of the current time. This here is the Official Declaration for Production Year 2021–2022. I did what I had set out to do in Production-Year 2020–2021, and I’m still only halfway through it, in actual time.

It might be confusing, using two different calendars, one for real time, what I call current or actual time and one, time in the “design space” if you will, which is always 1–2 years ahead of current time. Think of it as a fashion designer coming out with a new “Fall” collection. They might come out with stuff years in advance, like with cars and other technologies. When you do your show, you’re showing the future. That’s why I called them “Production-Years”. It’s an entire year of Production, from Autumn to Autumn.

From Noise Fields To My Novels

I’ve been making noise fields in my visual digital art. I spent a lot of time programming, too, learning to program in C and improving my Python programming skills. I took many on-line courses. Also COVID-19 happened in this last Production-Year, so that changed things quite a bit. But frankly even last winter I was spending most of my time making music with my band. I wasn’t really painting anymore. I was writing quite a bit, but mostly in my private journal. I didn’t work that much on my novels, only a little bit.

I started working on the novels more recently. I’ve always had ideas for novels. I am constantly thinking up scenarios, it’s one of the things that I do, one of my particularities. I will continue working on my novels, programming, trying to build some sort of app to implement my Refcard-System idea.

I wish the novels could be simulations. Novelistic phenomenologies. The Novel-as-System. The Novel-as-Platform.

For reference, here are 5 of my previous Official Declarations, which are usually much more formal:

Production-Year 2016–2017
Official Declaration of The Production-Year 2017–2018
Official Declaration of The Production-Year 2018–2019
Official Declaration of Production-Year 2019–2020
Official Declaration of Production-Year 2020–2021

The Coming Year

LUNA. Mixed media by A.G. © 2020. All Rights Reserved.

Expect to see me creating countless new “noise fields”, which are digital visual works of art, now created mostly through Photoshop and posted across Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Pinterest. Expect to see many more portraits made in a variety of mediums, mostly of women, or “imaginary muses”, at least for the time being (I plan on making other kinds of portraits in the future, but am focusing on women for now).

Expect to see music coming from the band. We are currently working on a new album. We’ll be recording videos of our recording sessions and jam sessions with a 4k Go-Pro digital video camera. We are building a website and will be selling our new tracks on-line. Expect to see The Historiotheque up and running, the name that I give my art studio. I am getting more and more productive, maybe not as productive as I have been in previous years, but still productive enough.

I will be adding to this Official Declaration over the next several months, as the new Production-Year progresses.

To be continued… [publishing early]

A.G. © 2020. All Rights Reserved.

--

--