Becoming Savage

Krista Mollion
The Sassy Chronicles
6 min readAug 26, 2020

--

You Can Survive Life Trauma and Build Mental Toughness

Image: Unsplash

When you get beat down, it burns into your very soul and shapes you. It could be any kind of trauma — from childhood abuse, neglect, a loss, an assault, or losing your job, partner, health, or bankruptcy. That self-destructive voice is loud. You think to yourself “I’m not good enough.” or “No one will ever love me. ” Thoughts are powerful and they translate into your actions. You don’t even try. After all, why bother? The voice tells you that you’d fail anyway.

As an empath, it is even worse because we are super sensitive. We feel everything more intensely: love, friendship, pain, and grief. For most of my life, I considered empathy a curse. I had a crappy childhood. I was often depressed and negative. Then I grew up and got married to a really nice person. I thought my problems were over. I was finally happy. But life bent us. The stress, the drive, the pressure, the money, the work competition, the bills, the responsibilities, the disappointments, the high stakes….I woke up once in the middle of the night and knew my marriage was over. I ended up divorced and starting over my life at nearly 40. Losing my marriage taught me a lot about love. After this, I reconnected with an old flame and made a go at life together. For some time, I was super happy. But it all came at a huge expense.

--

--

Krista Mollion
The Sassy Chronicles

Ex-Agency Owner For Top Iconic Brands Turned Fractional CMO + Educator for Small Business Owners and Creators To Go From Semi-Invisible To Un-Ignorable