Just What is Romantic Attraction?

And how does it differ from sexual attraction?

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2019

--

What is romantic attraction?

I have never experienced sexual attraction. I understand it feels like sexual desire, but happens right away, often just from looking at someone. I do sometimes experience sexual desire, but only when I’m feeling safe and only along with touch.

I call myself bi/demi/ace. This is shorthand for biromantic/bisexual demiromantic/demisexual asexual — which is quite a mouthful. It means I can experience romantic attraction and sexual desire for my own gender/sex and other genders/sexes, but only after I have established a close bond with someone.

But what is romantic attraction?

Some say you can’t explain love, that you “just know” when it happens to you. And, yes, it is hard to explain, but scads of poetry and songs have been written in an attempt to explain it anyway. Romantic attraction is just as hard to describe.

There was a beautiful Twitter thread about it just recently:

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.