#2: Arkona (Аркона)

The Northeasterner
The World Metal List
2 min readJan 2, 2022

Hypnotic and epic, all in one. That is how I would describe Arkona.

https://www.last.fm/music/Arkona/+images/5d244ef9c83b40bac0b3006ea954ccff

Background Info (Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives)
Country of origin: Russia
Location: Moscow
Status: Active (as of 1/2/22)
Formed in: 2002
Genre: Pagan/Folk Metal
Lyrical themes: Slavic paganism and folktales, Legends, Mythology
Current label: Napalm Records
Years active: 2002 (as Гиперборея), 2002-present

I came across Arkona many years ago through one of their songs, Goi Rode Goi, which I initially found breath-taking. The bagpipes humming in the intro give me goosebumps all the time. The “polka” section with the accordion (i think it was an accordion) is also dope!

Although the band only has a permanent piper/flutist , they do incorporate a wide array of Russian/Slavic folk instruments in their recordings (like the balalaika, if I’m not mistaken).

That one song led me to check out the rest of the band’s material, and I’ve been listening to their music ever since; Nikogda from Slovo would be another one of my favorites (1:05 through the song was really sick). Although, I have yet to listen fully to the group’s latest releases.

Favorite albums:

  • Goi, Rode, Goi! (2009)
  • Slovo (2011)

Favorite songs:

  • Goi, Rode, Goi! (Goi, Rode, Goi!)
  • Nikogda (Slovo)
  • Odna (Slovo) (the intro groove with the pipes and the toms, damn)

PREVIOUS ARTICLE: #1: Eluveitie
NEXT ARTICLE: #3: Nawather
GO TO MASTER LIST

--

--

The Northeasterner
The World Metal List

Formerly focused purely on research articles on Ibanag language, culture, and history; now also doing features and other literature under a wide range of topics