#1: Eluveitie

The Northeasterner
The World Metal List
2 min readJan 1, 2022

Let me start this list with the band that got me truly fascinated with Celtic metal and folk metal worldwide, the band I consider as one of my favorites, Eluveitie!

Earlier line up (https://www.last.fm/music/Eluveitie/+images?page=5)

Background Info (Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives)
Country of origin: Switzerland
Location: Zürich
Status: Active (as of 1/1/2022)
Formed in: 2002
Genre: Folk/Melodic Death Metal, Folk
Lyrical themes: Celtic/Helvetian history, Battles
Current label: Nuclear Blast
Years active: 2002-present

It was in 2008 (I think), that I first encountered their album, Slania. I can’t remember how, but I do recall that I was so fekking amazed with their music the very first time I heard it.

Being a huge fan of world music in general, rock music, and world cultures and history (and everything that led me to create this publication), I instantly fell in love with their songs, especially Tarvos and Inis Mona. The way their multiple folk instruments (bagpipes, tin whistles, hurdy gurdy, fiddle, mandolin, etc.) blended with their guitar riffs and drum beats, especially when these instruments were doing “Celtic” solos, Lord help me, it made my ears orgasm back then and continues to do so until this very day. Really, I was utterly amazed… multiple folk instruments. Add the fact that some of their songs are written in Gaulish.

I also love it that they released purely folk albums, which I listen to when I’m all chill-mode. Their lyrics also helped heighten my interest in Celtic culture and history. Over the years, the band went through several line up changes, but their music remained consistent — epic as ever.

Favorite albums:

  • Slania (2008)
  • Helvetios (2012)
  • Ategnatos (2019)

Favorite songs:

  • Tarvos (Slania)
  • The Somber Lay (Slania)
  • Helvetios (Helvetios) (epic folk instrument solo)
  • Ategnatos (Ategnatos) (I went nuts the first time I heard the solo)
  • Deathwalker (Ategnatos)
  • Quoth the Raven (Everything Remains (As it Never Was))
latest line up (https://www.last.fm/music/Eluveitie/+images?page=5)

PREVIOUS ARTICLE: Introduction
NEXT ARTICLE: #2: Arkona
GO TO MASTER LIST

--

--

The Northeasterner
The World Metal List

Formerly focused purely on research articles on Ibanag language, culture, and history; now also doing features and other literature under a wide range of topics