The Hunt and Overtime in softcover. The Hunt’s cover reads “The Hunt, The Ultimate Arena Sport”. The cover art features a profile images of a man wearing read body armor and helmet, holding a sci-fi rifle. In the background is a maze with grey walls. In the maze are multiple gunmen. Behind that are bleachers packed with fans. A scoreboard is above the bleachers. The cover of Overtime is obscured by the The Hunt book.
Image from Solarian Games.

Roleplaying Games / Board Games

Death Sports on TV are Inevitable

The Hunt: The Ultimate Arena Sport

Oscar
The Ugly Monster
Published in
8 min readAug 13, 2021

--

Tactical tabletop RPGs are having a moment. I want that moment to stop right the fuck now. Lancer’s tactical mechanics ruined an otherwise brilliant sci-fi game. Then Lancer’s publisher made a fantasy counterpart, ICON. Now the creator of the beloved and very not-tactical Wanderhome has thrown their hat into that terrible ring with In The Time Of Monsters.

All this dudes-on-a-grid nonsense has forced me to come to grips with my own past sins. Many moons ago, before I knew better, I once liked a heavily tactical RPG. And I am ashamed.

A while back I mentioned The Hunt in a piece about the recent TSR drama. What I failed to mention was that I had re-bought the damn thing but had yet to write about it. I didn’t know how to approach it. It barely qualifies as an RPG. If you flipped through it, you’d be forgiven for thinking it’s a Space Hulk-ish skirmish game. It’s listed on Board Game Geek but not RPG Geek. That’s telling.

The fact that the real-world game and the in-universe sport share the same name doesn’t help. To avoid confusion, I will call the game you play “The Hunt” and the in-universe sport “THE HUNT”.

--

--

Oscar
The Ugly Monster

Publisher and Chief Editor of The Ugly Monster and Getting Into Chess. News junkie. Music lover. Game fanatic. Anti-conservative. Societal disaster.