Favorite Rock Shows of 2023

David Lee
Three Imaginary Girls
2 min readDec 10, 2023

--

boygenius. Photos by author.

The Three Imaginary Girls writing prompt is Top Three of 2023. I’m going to cheat a bit since I already wrote about my favorite show of the year, Say Sue Me. I’ll write about the next three instead.

These are in chronological order. I loved them all.

The Beths: February 17 at Neumos.

The Beths. Photos by author.

I saw The Beths perform five times in 2023. They were wonderful each time but for this show I was up front and could fully appreciate their virtuosity and passion. Their melodies seem effortlessly inventive and catchy. Their clever lyrics lull you into letting your guard down then gut you with a turn of phrase. It’s almost too much to take in all at once. I don’t get tired of seeing the Beths perform.

Cheekface: May 16th at Barboza.

Cheekface. Photos by author.

Every song is a sing-along at a Cheekface show. Screaming “No” with everyone else in response to their song “Listen to Your Heart. No.” is remarkably cathartic. Their lyrics are hilarious and heart-wrenching at the same time. The crowd was one big friend group. Cheekface was genuinely happy to be there and performed in earnest.

boygenius: July 29th at The Gorge.

boygenius. Photos by author.

I’ve been to many shows in my life and have never experienced anything as powerful as when the crowd sang along with “Cool About It,” most with tears streaming down our faces. It was a moment. I’m still not over it. The whole show was joyous. They put on a loud, bigger than life rock show. I hope they pick up wins for every one of their Grammy nominations.

Top Three of 2023

This story was part of the Three Imaginary Girls December writing prompt, Top Three of 2023. If you’d like to share a story about your first show-going experience, please do!

--

--

David Lee
Three Imaginary Girls

Seattle software engineer, adverb, seeker of musical transcendence. he/him/cis/white/straight/old/ugly/dull