CAI Skills

Thomas Packer, Ph.D.
TP on CAI
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2019

AI is a confluence of many kinds of knowledge, expertise, and skill.

Photo by Kenny Luo on Unsplash

Here I list the different components or areas of knowledge and skill I believe are necessary for creating the best conversational AI (CAI) or CAI applications, or for becoming a well-rounded expert in this new and necessarily-interdisciplinary field. To the best of my knowledge, all of these skills and terms predate CAI but are now working together to produce CAI. For each skill, I also list how it is generally applied within CAI, some of the sub-skills you may have heard of, and a link to a list of published research in that area. Also see my post called CAI Terminology for definitions of terms.

Agent planning, multi-agent systems, Markov decision processes, reinforcement learning: Improve dialog outcomes

Cloud environment: Deploy a scalable infrastructure

Deep learning: Text classification, information extraction, graph + text inference.

Graph database: Knowledge representation, knowledge graph

Intrapreneurship or entrepreneurship: Getting something new started inside or outside of an existing business.

Named entity recognition (NER): Entity and relation extraction from text. Fill slots.

NL dialog management:

NL Understanding: Translate language to Cypher queries

Planning and scheduling

Semantic parsing: Translating a natural language utterance into a representation of its meaning that consists of grounded entities and their relationships. This consists of entity recognition, entity resolution, relation extraction. The most promising area of research here is what I call semantic parsing by graph matching.

Sentence generation: Generate responses

Text classification: Classify intent of a human utterance.

Reasoning: Enhanced language understanding

Join the CAI Dialog on Slack at cai-dialog.slack.com

About TP on CAI

Other stories in TP on CAI you may like:

--

--

Thomas Packer, Ph.D.
TP on CAI

I do data science (QU, NLP, conversational AI). I write applicable-allegorical fiction. I draw pictures. I have a PhD in computer science and I love my family.