Here’s How You Build a Writing Habit Around Your 9-to-5 Job

Yes, you can keep a consistent writing schedule without burnout.

Francis Taylor
Word Garden
4 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

A young woman in a sweater typing at a laptop.
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Lads and ladies, here’s a quick question for you.

Does the thought of writing every day alongside your full-time job stress you out?

If the answer is yes, then I can definitely relate. I’ve also been juggling my content writing job with posting articles on Medium. Fortunately, I’ve found a way to strike some balance in my life, and I think that I can do the same for all my lovely readers.

Just be warnedI’m not some Type A, grindset guru. If you want to see instant results and spend every waking moment writing, then this article won’t give you what you need.

However, if you want steady, sustainable growth that doesn’t require a nervous breakdown? Then this advice is for you, amigo.

Set a low bar (but make it consistent)

If you need to write 2–3 hours every day, then you’re setting yourself up for failure.

As I’ve said elsewhere, a steady habit is the way to go.

You’ll want to begin with a minimum of 30 minutes a day, something that’s easy to achieve but won’t take too much out of you.

It’s more important to just build the habit first. Like going to the gym or practicing piano, you want to reach a point where breaking the routine feels like more effort than getting it done.

Once you’ve got that down? You can always increase the volume later.

Just remember — it’s all about keeping that momentum up while you work your 9-to-5. You’ll see better results with slow, steady progress than bursts of intense effort followed by exhaustion.

Choose a time that works for you

Yes, this advice is everywhere, but that’s because it works.

You need to set a block of time aside for writing. You can’t just wait for inspiration to strike you like a lightning bolt. Instead, the timeslots which work the best are:

  • Writing just before you go to work
  • Writing straight after you get home

The second one might sound a little counter-intuitive, but I’ve found it’s the path of least resistance.

Yes, your first impulse after a hard day’s work will be to relax. But if you spend an hour or two winding down, it’s going to be very hard to switch back to work mode.

It’s much easier to get your writing done and then indulge in your Netflix and video games. Even better, your enjoyment will be guilt-free!

Feeling burnt out? STOP

This is something I had to learn the hard way.

A few years ago, I started making hundreds of dollars a month on Medium. But I was also putting tons of hours into other writing projects and could barely cope.

A screenshot of my old earnings. They are as follows: $317.73 for March 2020, $678.71 for Feburary 2020 and $292.95 for January 2020.
Those were the days…

The moment life threw a few curveballs my way, I crumbled. The joy had gone out of writing. I demanded perfection in my articles, I demanded high performance, and — when my stats began to slump — I couldn’t handle it anymore.

Here’s the lesson: don’t push yourself to the breaking point, even if you think that’s the path to success.

If you’re feeling burnt out, step away from writing for a day or two.

I promise that it won’t destroy your momentum. In fact, you’ll come back refreshed, with a head full of new ideas. Plus, it’s better than quitting altogether.

The point of my article is pretty darn simple: you just need to pace yourself.

Yes, some writers like Carl Jeffers have seen pretty incredible success on Medium within their first few months. But others, like Eve Arnold, had to write here for years before they saw any real results.

The thing that both writers have in common is their consistency.

You don’t need to replicate the success stories perfectly. You don’t need to post every day. You just need to maintain a steady pace.

That’s the key to doing the writing that you want to do. Be kind to yourself, but be consistent, and the results will come in time.

--

--

Francis Taylor
Word Garden

Full-time writer. Music Maker. Political commentator.