Self publishing on Medium is like opening a business in a mall

I seem to always be searching.

W. Jon McClure
Writers Guild
3 min readApr 7, 2018

--

“I will persist until I succeed. Always will I take another step. If that is of no avail I will take another, and yet another. In truth, one step at a time is not too difficult. I know that small attempts, repeated, will complete any undertaking.” — Og Mandino

Searching for some thing that is the right fit for me. Something I can be passionate about and where the role is easy.

I’ve never really found that place. I’ve failed and failed, time and time again. I see others have success so much easier and some just by plain random luck but that has never been the case for me.

Each failure, I just try to learn a lesson and tell people that I’m “failing forward” (totally gonna use that as the title of a book one day).

My favorite quote that I’ve been saying since college (and not sure where it came from) is,

“Turning stumbling blocks into stepping stones.”

All my failures, I mean stepping stones have given me the base of knowledge stand and the tactics to be successful.

Which led me to Medium.

I hate that “build it and they will come” saying. Totally never worked for me. I built dozen of websites and blog, posted articles on it but no one ever came. (ya, I know you also need to do other stuff but my point remains)

Fast forward to publishing on Medium… I actually got some views!

How encouraging to put effort into something and it actually get read by something other than a google bot?!

I pretty much tell everyone about Medium. It has tons of topics and super clean. The name Medium itself doesn’t really explain what it is that well so, the best way for me to describe it to someone is,

“Writing is can be a lonely business and Medium is like putting that business in a mall. There’s all ready people there!”

That’s what makes Medium so addicting to writes, readers, creatives, and businesses. Medium allows writers and marketers to go where readers and buyers already are! There is so much power in that.

In the end you, still need to do some additional efforts to really start to grow. Even in a mall, business still need to market themselves. You’ll still need to invite, intice and after that it’s time to take it a step further and really get the word out. Here’s a few ideas that kinda worked for me.

Follow me on this Medium Adventure. I’ll post my monthly updates here.

Thanks for reading Writers Guild — A Smedian publication

Join our Facebook Group. Write for us. Share your many stories on ManyStories.com

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

W. Jon McClure
Writers Guild

Start to seek. Become a generalist. Begin to serve. Rise to a Polymath. Start a mission. Live in abundance. https://linktr.ee/wjmcclure