And So, It Begins

Zoe Odyssey (A Pen Name)
Zulie’s Writing Challenge
3 min readNov 2, 2021

--

Image by Arek Socha from Pixabay

Day 1 of a writing challenge during National Novel Writing Month in November 2021.

I suppose a more appropriate title would be And So, It Begins AGAIN.
I have sang this song and danced this dance before. It was same time last year when I attempted NaNoWriMo for the first time. I was successful and disappointed a year ago at the beginning of December 2020.
I had successfully met my quota of 50,000 words over one month written, but it seemed I had barely budged the progress of The Trilogy.

Too hard on myself?

I always question if I set goals that are just out of my reach, and this year I am beginning to see that I might have. I wanted to be SO MUCH further along in the construction of The Trilogy than I was. Only to discover at the end of the month and 50,000+ words written on various media, I was getting “poked” to do a 3 book outline before sitting down and writing it as a whole Trilogy. I thought about not doing a Trilogy at all, writing them as separate books, but it seemed like my mind screamed NO at the mere thought of it.

It had to be a Trilogy.

It made so much sense. Although, the incoming story scenes made no sense at all. I was writing them all out of sequence. The scenes kept flitting across my mind with the NEED to be written and I couldn’t help but swat at the ideas. I wrote them down as my mind landed upon them.
There was SOME structure.
The scenes that I managed to write out had a date at the top.

Well, MOST of them.

I had my work cut out for me, and I successfully did that myself.

Thanks, Self.

An outline for a Trilogy?

Post it notes? Written in a notebook? On the computer?

Needless to say, I had no idea where to begin.

It was about 3 weeks before writing this when the connections started up.
The connections from Book the 1st and Book the 3rd were so clear. It was complete with important tidbits that should be mentioned in Book the 2nd.
It was unbelievably magical how The Trilogy, something that was four years in the making, was coming together at that very moment.

And there I was, without a pen.

“UGH, I am a writer without a pen.”

It was a key phrase I said when a scene or story idea “popped in”. I would scramble to get it jotted down knowing I wouldn’t remember it. That particular scene was written down on the back of an envelope I just got from the mailbox and a purple colored pencil.
Or, was it teal…either way, it was successfully written down.

And So, It Begins.

As I sit her writing this, I am realizing that I MUST do some sort of organized outline structured situation to get The Trilogy to flow the way my mind is envisioning it.
I am realizing that The Trilogy has many wonderful moving parts and they will not stop moving.
I just merely have to catch the ones I can and construct them into an awe inspiring alternate universe.

Links to articles:
Click this link to read Day 2

Click this link to read Day 3

Click this link to read Day 4

--

--

Zoe Odyssey (A Pen Name)
Zulie’s Writing Challenge

Mother to 3 and a wife to 1. Preschool Teaching Behavior Therapist turned writer in the pursuit of happiness. True Stories, Spiritual Fantasy, Poetry & more.