Q2 Personal Goals Check In

Matthew Marshall
2 min readJul 15, 2017

--

See: 2017 Goals and my Q1 Check In

Main 2017 goals

Relationships

  • I will go deeper in current relationships and focus on core 5 friends.

This goal had the most growth during this quarter. It’s hard for me to place specific reasons for why this happened, but the focus here has paid off.

  • I will put more focus on dating :)

I did indeed put more focus here so good progress. More time needed here.

  • I will have a spirit of hospitality.

I was able to show hospitality through food by hosting/helping with Easter lunch, Passover seder, and 1 or 2 dinners at our apartment. Oliver and I were also able to plan a social for our community group.

Mental and Learning

  • I will write more to distill my thoughts and internalize my learnings.

I only wrote two public pieces (this and this) and wrote minimally internally. Setting aside time for writing has been challenging. I will challenge myself to put aside more time for this.

  • I will read from a select group of authors (like Jason Fried) and preeminent sources to learn and get better.

I did continue to read from a select group of authors, however did not read as much as I would have liked to.

  • Establish small “advisory group” to challenge, teach, and guide me.

No progress. What if I just ask one person for help, instead of making it more formal or a large commitment? I will ask one person on Monday for help and to be a person that I can quickly turn to.

Health/Fitness

  • Eat more.

In general, yes I did eat more, but now I need to set up a system that will help me eat more without thinking about it as much. Recurring snack subscription :)

  • Hire personal trainer.

Signed up for a personal trainer and went to my first session! Big step forward. Excited to start, but I will keep the workouts to one per week for now and then ramp up as I build the habit.

Highlights from Q2

  • Hosting Easter Lunch
  • Spy game with Webflow friends in downtown SF
  • Passover with our Reality SF community group
  • Backpacking trip to Lost Coast trail
  • Chance the Rapper concert (my favorite song of his)
  • Detour with Allie in Fisher’s Wharf (detour is one of my favorite apps)
  • Shabbat Dinner at Jews for Jesus house
  • Hike in Tennessee Valley, CA with Morgan and Brett (New Story team members)
  • Social Impact Leadership with UPENN in Nicaragua
  • New Design for New Story’s Admin Platform
  • Going Home to Eatonton, GA for a week
  • Friends Wedding in Thomasville, GA
  • Portland with my great friends, Barrett and Sean
  • Castle Rock state park backpacking trip
  • New Story retreat in Arnold, CA

Excited for Q3

  • River Rafting trip with community group and friends
  • Camping with my community group in August
  • Friend’s wedding in Atlanta in September
  • New Story moving to SCRUM development process
  • Backpacking trip (location TBD)
  • New Story Q3 retreat in Georgia

--

--